Home > general > fantasy challenge

fantasy challenge

yahoo!

i completed the fantasy challenge!

http://www.stainlesssteeldroppings.com/?page_id=61

i was initially not going to do it as i didn’t have any money to buy any new books and i still had some way to go to get through my pile (there was also only one fantasy book on my pile…). but then funny things happened.

i found neil gaiman’s “angela” for a pound in a charity shop, a friend gave me “kafka on the shore” for my birthday and i bought the new terry pratchett (i just had to! i love the watch!). and hey presto i had 3 fantasy books. then when i read carl’s review after he’d reread coraline (and carl’s general neil gaiman promotion campaign) i decided i could reread “coraline”.

this was the first challenge i had done and i really enjoyed it. it was really cool to be a part of something – to know everyone was reading the same genre with you, and celebrating fantasy with you!

it was also fun to immerse myself completely in the realm of fantasy for a while. my life has felt a bit dream-like lately…!

i’ve posted reviews of “coraline” and “angela” and will do for the other two soon.

Categories: general
  1. June 21, 2007 at 9:05 am

    Of course its felt like the realm of fantasy! You live with POOKS!!! Pooky the amazing buzzing cat who wails at windows and eats potatoes. She is able to levitate on arms and drink from toilets. She’s Pooks the amazing Cat!

  2. June 21, 2007 at 12:33 pm

    That is what makes these challenges fun – everyone reading together and finding out about new books. Fantasy was not a genre I’ve read much of, so it was a real introduction.
    The Day My Butt Went Psycho is by Andy Griffiths, and it appears to be a series. My son loved it, giggled all the time he read it. He’s 9.:) Thanks for stopping by.

  3. June 21, 2007 at 7:38 pm

    Congratulations on finishing!

    I really look forward to your review of Kafka on the Shore, as it’s on my TBR list. I picked it for the Book Awards Reading Challenge, so I’ll be reading it soon.

    Do you mean Thud by Terry Pratchett? He publishes so often that I often lose track of what’s recent. I’d love to hear your thoughts on that too. It’s definitely on my top 5 Discworld Novels (maybe even top 3).

  4. jpderosnay
    June 22, 2007 at 12:25 pm

    i suppose “wintersmith” is technically his latest novel, but yes, i meant “thud!”. top 5?! wow! i love the watch, but sadly i found “thud!” rather average…

    what are the other ones in your top 5? do you have a favourite?

  5. June 23, 2007 at 2:55 pm

    My top 5:

    Reaper Man
    Small Gods
    Witches Abroad
    The Wee Free Men
    Feet of Clay

    Not necessarily in this order. And if you asked me together, it might change, except for the first two. I have a bit of a Death/Witches bias, but, as for “Thud!” the reason why I loved it was, first of all, because it added such depth to Discworld. I loved learning all those things about the trolls and the dwarves and their tradition and their past. The stories within “Thud!” had an almost epic feel, which is not usual for Discworld at all, but really worked in this specific case, I think. Secondly, I loved how, using trolls and dwarves, he so accurately portrayed the social and racial tensions most of us unfortunately know all about. And finally, the whole thing with Vimes and his son really got to me. It made him feel so… human.

    But one of the best things about Discworld is the fact that it is so vast, which means that different people can love different things about it. I still look forward to your review, even knowing you weren’t very happy with it.

  6. jean pierre
    June 25, 2007 at 8:29 am

    oh reaper man! i love reaper man! 🙂

    i found it quite profound actually. i do like death a lot!

    and while i prefer the watch myself i enjoy the witches. i especially liked lords and ladies.

    i love, love, love feet of clay! love it!

  7. June 25, 2007 at 4:33 pm

    So glad you participated and am thrilled to be getting to know you through out LOTR and other conversations. Look forward to much more in the future. Keep in mind that you don’t have to buy the books for the challenge (though, if you’re like me, book possession is an addiction).

  8. jean pierre
    June 25, 2007 at 6:25 pm

    i’m loving our conversations! and also look forward to our future discussions!

    buying books i read… oh dear, you’ve just touched on another one of my idiosyncracies. book possession is certainly an addiction! i’m downright obstinate about reading a book that i don’t own. i’m a bit like gollum with books, really, and i just about stop short of stroking – wait, scratch that, nope, i’m embarrassed to admit stroking has been known to happen…!

  9. June 26, 2007 at 5:08 pm

    You’re not alone…Jeff, Chris, Quixotical, Nymeth…I think we are all Gollumish book possesors! 🙂

  10. June 28, 2007 at 6:13 pm

    Yup, I am definitely Gollumish about my books 😀

  11. jean pierre
    June 28, 2007 at 7:29 pm

    i also like to get different editions of a book i love. although, that could easily go down the wrong route… as it is i have a few different editions of the dune books. apart from the original editions i really like the NEL (i think) editions which are that really out-there 70s/80s sci fi and don’t resemble the books at all, but still capture a wonderful sense of drama and otherness!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

