Home > books > r.i.p.

r.i.p.

ย 

yahoo! the rip challenge is finally here!! ๐Ÿ™‚

i am particularly excited about the rip challenge because it has a special significance for me. it was this time last year that i really got into carl’s blog and through it discovered the blogging world in general. i remember looking on with such envy at all the fun everyone was having reading these books and talking to one another about them. there was such a wonderful sense of camaraderie – it looked like such fun to be a part of it all.

i’m really looking forward to being a part of it this time around. its already been fun thanks to the fantastic way in which carl launches his challenges! he really is a pro at this. and did i mention incredibly generous?

so what will i be reading? its been really hard to decide, hence me taking so long to post about it! ๐Ÿ™‚ 1. my first choice is the easiest one: “the claw of the conciliator” by gene wolfe.

i recently read “the shadow of the torturer” and enjoyed it, and with “claw” sitting there on my book pile, winking at me, this one was a no-brainer. 2. now the difficult ones. there were 2 precious spare slots in my list – i was incredibly swayed by the choices of the other participants and really wanted to squeeze in natasha mostert’s “season of the witch” but finally settled on a zombie-double with max brooks’ “world war z” and “zombie survival guide”. i love zombies – i don’t know why. its such a weird thing…

ย 

its not just zombies though, its also the apocolypse that i like. so i’m looking forward to reading about the world ending and all that…

4. i have carl to blame for this choice – “the rest falls away” by colleen gleason.

not only has he enticed me to read these books with his reviews, but he also managed to organise a very enticing giveaway; for those who read one of gleason’s novels for the challenge – with one of the prizes being a stake!!! oooh! ๐Ÿ˜ฎ

i really like the gothic genre, there is something so warmly thrilling about it. i love how it is sexy and thrilling at the same time! i always have time for a good old vampire or werewolf story…

5. i’ve always wanted to read “the picture dorian gray”.

its one of those stories that i’ve always known of and have seen numerous references to, so this is the perfect opportunity to finally read it! i really like the concept and the idea of that painting is wonderfully macabre and haunting.

6. my final choice was decided long before the challenge even started: “dracula”. thats not the cover i have –ย i have no idea how my cover will look…ย i tried to find one today, but i didn’t like any of them!

i’ve chosen this for similar reasons to “the picture of dorian gray”, but with the added reason that it is (in my mind) the flagship book of the rip challenge. reading this is a way of reminding me that i am at last taking part in the challenge!

on top of all that, charlotte also loves “dracula” and has been talking about it ever since she read it last year – so i just have to read it!! ๐Ÿ™‚

the horror won’t stop there, either. to celebrate rip the bagman is going dark!

this will be my new icon during the rip challenge. and i will be playing “resident evil 3” as well. i’ve had it for a while, but haven’t gotten around to playing it. i really love this particular installment of “resident evil”, the mood is so cool. i find it incredibly spooky and melancholic!

ย 

ooh! look at that. so cool!

you know what? i think i’m going to have a go on it right now!

scarya later! ๐Ÿ™‚

UuuhUHhhuhhhuHuhHHhUUUuhhh… (thats the sound of the zombie moan)

Categories: books
  1. J.S. Peyton
    September 1, 2007 at 9:20 pm

    I’ve seen this reading challenge of number of places now and I’ve been trying, really trying not to join this challenge (I’m already buried under books). But everyone really seems so excited about this reading challenge, and I really do see the comraderie that seems to have come with it. And I really have wanted to read Max Brooks’ World War Z. Sigh. Ah, well. Excuse me while I sign up for this challenge…

    P.S. Love your blog. Wandered over here from somewhere else (naturally, I can’t remember from where). But I’m glad I did.

  2. jean pierre
    September 1, 2007 at 10:16 pm

    haha… carl’s challenges are particularly hard to avoid ๐Ÿ™‚ welcome on board! you can, of course, always choose the peril where you only have to read one novel and just read “world war z”…

    yeah, the camaraderie is great – and probably the main reason why i take part in these challenges.

    glad you like the blog and thanks for stopping by!

  3. September 1, 2007 at 10:26 pm

    Sign up J.S., you know you want to!!! ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Has it really been that long that you’ve been coming to my blog, JP? I get so confused because these challenges always bring waves of new people into my universe. I guess the fact that you’ve just recently started blogging yourself makes it seem like it hasn’t been that long. Its been a great relationship though and I am really enjoying it.

    Wonderful choices. I can’t believe that, as a self proclaimed Wolfe fanatic because of The Knight and The Wizard, I have yet to read these other Wolfe books. I am so jealous of the cover of the second book. It is wonderful!!!

    Haven’t heard of those zombie books, so I am very interested in what you will have to say about them.

    Is this your first run through with Dracula? I am always nostalgic when people have their first encounter with Stoker’s wonderful novel.

    And might I say that I just love that you are such a kindred spirit in that you will be doing some R.I.P. gaming during the challenge. I fired up Thief III the other day for that very same reason and will be playing some Fatal Frame III and some other horror games during this period as well. Love it!

  4. wain
    September 1, 2007 at 10:40 pm

    I’m planning on joining in with this challenge. Just as soon as I figure out what exactly I’m going to read ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. September 2, 2007 at 1:27 am

    I’m glad you’re joining in, Jean Pierre. Carl really is a great host. My favourite thing about challenges is the sense of community, the feeling of doing something with a group of people and getting to know them along the way. Carl’s challenges are particularly strong when it comes to that.

    I really like Dracula and The Picture of Dorian Gray. The others I haven’t read, but I look forward to your reviews.

  6. September 2, 2007 at 3:11 am

    I haven’t read Dorian Gray either, which is odd because I have read many of Oscar Wilde’s plays and I adore them. They are some of the most brillaintly written comedies I have ever read.

  7. September 2, 2007 at 5:53 am

    Awesome reads JP! I’ve been getting more and more curious about the Brooks books. I keep seeing them pop up on people’s lists and I’ve heard really great things about World War Z. I’m a big zombie fan too, so I’m sure they’ll be added to the list somewhere down the line.

    Colleen’s book is awesome! I really think you’ll like it. I found it’s sequel Rises the Night even better…that one is much darker and much more of a thriller. She’s an incredible person too! That stake rocks, huh?

    I haven’t read Dorian Gray either…but it’s one of Megan’s favorite books and she’s been trying to get me to read it for years. I started it a while back, but I was reading her copy and she took it away from me! So I blame her :p I’m joining you in Dracula. Actually reading that one right now!

  8. jean pierre
    September 2, 2007 at 2:00 pm

    CARL:
    yeah, it was this time last year. i don’t think i commented too much at all initially, but i followed the whole rip thing.

    i’m not surprised you get loads of new people with every challenge – they’re so good carl! i’m really impressed by how you actually manage to keep contact with them all, what with all the new readers to your blog that you keep on getting.

    at the expense of sounding soppy, i’m really glad i got to know you too!

    with not having read the book of the new sun, i think its always nice to keep books in the safe by authors that one loves. its like a guarantee that there’s always something good waiting for you. and that cover is gorgeous, isn’t it? i’m glad you like it too! i absolutely love those kind of covers!! ๐Ÿ™‚

    this is indeed my first go at “dracula” and i am really looking forward to it – even more so now that you’ve said that. i know that feeling of envying others their first reading of a book you love – one only feels that way about really special books.

    i just have to find a cover i like though…!

    ooh! “fatal frame” and “thief”! brilliant! i really have to try out “fatal frame” some time – and sooner rather than later.

    i’ve only read wilde’s plays myself. what i find interesting is how they get better with each one he writes. they’re all fun, but “an ideal husband” and “importance of being earnest” are excellent!

    WAIN:

    glad you’re joining in on the fun! trying to decide is really hard, isn’t it. i’ve had months to prepare and still it took me forever to decide! ๐Ÿ™‚ when you join, be sure to try to write some reviews, so we can all see what you’ve read and what you thought of them.

    NYMETH:

    the sense of community with carl’s challenges is wonderful, isn’t it!?

    what did you think of “dracula” and “dorian gray”?

    CHRIS:

    i’m really looking forward to the brooks books – there’s a lot of hype about them!

    and colleen’s book looks really cool, i’m very excited about it. oooh! and that stake, i love it! ๐Ÿ™‚

    its going to be very cool to finally read “dracula” and “dorian gray” – i’ve been wanting to read them for so long now. how’s “dracula”? are you enjoying it?

  9. September 2, 2007 at 3:07 pm

    Well…it’s about time you got around to picking some titles!! Just kidding!! This past week, my modem went out. I spent 3 days unconnected!! How horrible is that??? What did we ever do without the internet???

    I requested World War Z from the library last week. Of course, I have a few extra bucks in my pocket, so I’m thinking a trip to Borders is in my near future!! The Picture of Dorian Gray is one of my very favorites! First of all, I love Wilde’s wit! But it’s such a great story! And I’ll be reading Dracula right along with you too!! Can you believe as much as I like vampires, I have never actually read the Grandaddy of them all??

    I love this challenge and this time of year!! Yeah!

  10. jean pierre
    September 2, 2007 at 5:48 pm

    yeah – what did we do before the internet!?! i’m glad you’re back, though ๐Ÿ™‚

    what other vampire novels have you read? all i’ve read are the anne rice ones.

    i suppose the thing with dracula is thats its always been there, waiting for us, so theres been no rush – and then in the meantime there have been other horror books that have come out that have been very topical and so quite exciting to read… but i’m very excited to be finally getting around to it!

    this challenge is great! ๐Ÿ˜€

  11. September 3, 2007 at 6:05 am

    Go Resident Evil! Can’t remember the last time I sat down and played a decent game. Was it Neverwinter’s Night or Gabriel Knight? Darn. It’s been a long time.

    Picture of Dorian Grey. Having read it for a very long time.

    Love the picture of the scary bagman, JP.

  12. September 3, 2007 at 9:39 am

    Hi Jean Pierre! I’m finally getting round to commenting on your blog – looks great!

    Excellent RIP II selection. The Picture of Dorian Gray and Dracula are both fabulous.

    Resident Evil III is a good choice too! I’m thinking of picking up Resident Evil IV for the Wii to enjoy during the next couple of months.

  13. September 3, 2007 at 2:08 pm

    I’ve finally managed to gather together four books that I know I’ll read for the challenge. But I’m also planning on adding a few to that list, all going to plan of course ๐Ÿ™‚

  14. jean pierre
    September 3, 2007 at 10:15 pm

    DARK ORPHEUS:

    i haven’t played gabriel knight, but i do know it. is it still quite playable today?

    what did you think of dorian gray?

    the scary bagman! whahahahha! since no-one had mentioned it, i thought people didn’t think much of it. glad you like it! ๐Ÿ™‚

    QUIXOTIC:

    hey! thanks for stopping by. i’ve got to check out your blog more often!

    good to hear that “dorian gray” and “dracula” are good! “resident evil iv” looks very good. i like the way they’ve freshened it up. it looks quite creepy…

    FENCE:

    glad you’re joining in! i haven’t heard of any of the books from your selection, so i’m really looking forward to what you’ll make of them.

  15. September 29, 2007 at 9:08 pm

    I’ve never read any Zombie books, but lately have been wanting to. I will definitely be looking forward to any reviews you have of the zombie books you have on your list. ๐Ÿ™‚

  16. jean pierre
    September 30, 2007 at 10:28 am

    i’ve never read any zombie novels either, but have really enjoyed them over the last few years… i think its the apocolyptic element of them that i like.

    i’m really looking forward to the zombie books, especially since one of them is a guidebook to surviving a zombie apocolypse, which makes it feel like the author is really taking the concept seriously!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

