Home > cats, general, photos > meet my mom’s animals

meet my mom’s animals

yes, animals. thats what she calls them. this even includes spiders, although, thankfully, i didn’t find any 8-legged “animals” in her house this time…

this is matewis (sometimes also known as matthew). apparently he’s my brother (!?!). jolly bugger, isn’t he?

this is jackalas. also known as tuscany. i don’t know how she’s managing to look so regal in this photo…

this is the other one of matewis’ two facial expressions. odd cat.

this is a cool one. attack cat (also known as tinker bell) is on top there, and lurking below in the shadows is jet jungle. jet jungle is only known as jet jungle.

attack cat looking pretty.

stretch!

see? only two expressions.

aah… this photo gives you a glimpse of the lunatic that she is…

i like this one. it took me forever to get a photo of monster. every time i got settled to take a photo he saw me and came bounding over to me! now, firstly, cats don’t bound. and secondly, if they did, just happen to do something that looked somewhat like bounding (to the untrained human eye), they certainly wouldn’t bound toward a human… … dogs do that.

jet jungle – not hiding this time. you see, they all took turns posing for me on this little brick-paved spot. it was like i was a real-life beret-wearing photographer!!

“hello jet!”

this is nina. don’t get the impression by the lack of dog-focus in this blog that we’re not dog people. as i said, my mom likes “animals”. but these two dogs aren’t really ours as such. they were adopted from useless people who couldn’t take care of them properly. so we love them, but they’re not quite the kinds of dogs we’d want.

i conclude this post with a tryptich of poses marcel marceau would’ve been proud of…

or is it one of those blokes on the high street pretending to be a statue?

Categories: cats, general, photos
  1. November 8, 2007 at 8:41 pm

    I think Matewis must be your brother. You often look like that first thing in the morning. Grumpus! 😉

    I like the ones of your mums realistic animal fur rug…!

  2. November 9, 2007 at 3:06 am

    How did you get them to stay still long enough for the shots? I had problems every time I try to take a picture of the cat that loitered around our flat. (I call him “Mister”) Of course, Mister did not bound towards me – instead he would turn and flash his bum at my camera. Could never get a frontal shot.

    Matewis just need scars to look like Nanny Ogg’s Greebo. Really. And the insane eyes in the second pix, perfect.

    Ah, I love cats. And big dogs. Actually, I just like four-legged things with fur.

  3. November 10, 2007 at 2:53 am

    Tinkerbell on the table. Great shot.

    Staring me down.

  4. November 10, 2007 at 7:29 pm

    Ahaha, I completely agree with Dark Orpheus about Greebo!

    They are lovely, all of them 🙂 Looking at these pictures really made me miss my cats and dogs.

  5. annalie de rosnay
    November 11, 2007 at 4:32 am

    its lovely to see my animals posted here, this is my afternoon ritual, go into the garden, with a drink of course, dogs following me and then the cats also follow in their own time of course, and when i look around, i am surrounded by my animals and the birds fly from tree to tree, the lovely weather helps as well.

  6. November 11, 2007 at 3:55 pm

    Wow. That Attack Cat is one big kitty!! (Tinker Bell is kind of scary looking!!) I’m not a huge cat fan to be honest. They just seem to be so opinionated!! Dogs love you ever day…..cats only do it on their terms!!

  7. jean pierre
    November 12, 2007 at 1:38 pm

    CHARLOTTE:

    grumpus?!… hrumph!!

    DARK ORPHEUS:

    it must be all the food my mom gives them. it weighs them down…

    mister turning his bum toward you… haha! oh dear. and we’re meant to like that? cats are so easily unimpressed when we treat them incorrectly, but they could also learn something about human etiquette…

    i’ll tell my mom about the greebo comment – she’ll love that. she loves terry pratchett and especially greebo.

    ELIZABETH:

    i’m glad you like it! 🙂

    NYMETH:

    greebo – hooray!

    oh, i can only imagine how you must miss them…!

    MOM:

    haha… yes, the cats that DON’T FOLLOW you and then DON’T SIT by you… 🙂

    that really is such a nice garden spot, isn’t it. with the trees, the dogs, the cats and the birds…

    STEPHANIE:

    big is the word 🙂 and very scary indeed. haha!

    and cats are definitely opinionated… haha. but we forgive them, i guess.

  8. November 13, 2007 at 6:53 pm

    Stephanie!?! Cats are opinionated!? Dogs are better? Oh deary me, deary deary me. Us cats are far superior beings. We know everything, hence being considered opinionated. our brain capacity far outweighs the measly dog brain. Does a cat come running when the owner calls? No, we have our own minds. We are enjoying sitting and we will stay sitting. Do we run for sticks? Pah! Running for sticks is undignified. Ok so we sometimes fall off walls but we mean to. Its all part of the act.

    Cats are opinionated. Dogs are better. Deary deary me…..

    p.s My name is Pooky

  9. dew
    December 2, 2007 at 12:01 am

    I’m pretty sure Matewis is a zombie.

  10. jean pierre
    December 3, 2007 at 12:03 pm

    haha! you know, dew, i’d never thought of it, but now that you’ve said i see the resemblance! its uncanny! hahaha 😀

  11. annalie
    April 20, 2008 at 7:10 pm

    matewis is not a zombie, who said this. he might not have a very definite personality, a little aloof, but he is not a zombie. do zombies like catnip, or having their hair brushed and do they jump on my desk when it is raining to tell me it is my fault that their hair got wet.

  12. Bianca
    May 25, 2008 at 6:32 am

    I have a pitch black cat his name is matewis i luv him so much he is just so cute and by the way black cats are good not bad

  13. jean pierre
    May 27, 2008 at 7:10 am

    BIANCA:

    ah, what a perfect name for a black cat!

    and i agree with you about black cats being good. i’ve known a few and they’ve all been very good.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

