Home > photos > my autumnal walk to work

my autumnal walk to work

the trees that i pass on my way to work are looking really pretty lately, so i thought i’d take some photos and share what i see every morning. unfortunately, the photos ofย the middle bit of the journey came out all funny – so i can’t use them.ย but you aren’t missing much – its a very short walk! only 5 minutes from my front door to my desk :). isn’t that brilliant?

you know, i’ve just noticed this, but isn’t that guy’s walk (above) a bit funny…? there’s something zombie-like about him… look at the odd way in which his knees are bending… lazy-like and clumsy – it looks like he’s barely lifting his legs… and look at his arms, just dangling, and look at his rounded shoulders, and his head hanging, oh my word its a zombie!!!!

this is the first thing i see every morning as i open the door. the leaves look a bit manky in the photo, but in real life they’re quite pretty. that morning was bloody cold, but one can’t really see that either – not that one would, unless there was snow or something. but isn’t it funny how disappointed one is when a photo doesn’t depict all that you experienced?

this is the street that my work is on.

the playground across my work. the playground is a part of the pre-primary school playing field. when its break-time these kids go absolutely bananas.

and if i turn around i see…

this! and off to work we go! ๐Ÿ™‚

Categories: photos
  1. November 12, 2007 at 10:53 pm

    Indeed, I think you do have a zombie crisis forming in Oxford. That is most definitely a zombie going up the stairs!

    What I wouldn’t give for trees that looked like that! We don’t get colors that pretty in New Orleans…it sort of just goes from green to bare branches ๐Ÿ˜ฆ I don’t think I’d be so grouchy at work in the mornings if I had all that to look at on my way…I mean zombies! How many people get to look at zombies on their way to work ๐Ÿ˜‰

  2. November 13, 2007 at 2:02 am

    That wall of colour is lovely.
    None of my photos of colour change seem to capture the true beauty either.

  3. jean pierre
    November 13, 2007 at 8:09 am

    CHRIST:

    yeah! i’m glad you spotted it too! what also bothered me was, if he’s in that pic, where’d he go in the others? was he around? did he lurch past me? oh dear… the thought.

    well, when i go in today i’ll keep my eyes peeled!

    as you say, at least they make the walk to work interesting ๐Ÿ™‚

    the colours are pretty. i’m glad you get some sense of how it looks. they don’t look as good as they did in real life, which is partly due to my none-too-brilliant photography and my cheap-ass camera…

    ELIZABETH:

    it is nice, isn’t it?! especially since its by our entrance. someone had their thinking-cap on when they designed that entrance… ๐Ÿ˜‰

  4. November 13, 2007 at 10:09 am

    Autumn (though it is winter here in Ireland now) is always pretty. Prettier because although it may be cold and shivery outside we all know we can get nice and toasty warm inside ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. jean pierre
    November 13, 2007 at 10:15 am

    haha i love that!

    thats like a nice old saying from mary poppins or something! aw thanks fence. ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. November 13, 2007 at 3:49 pm

    Ack!! Do try to stay away from the Zombies!! Autumn is my very favorite time of the year!! I love it when the leaves turn colors. Of course, I have a yard full of them now, and they are starting to seep their way into my house!!

    Thanks for sharing the beautiful pictures!!

  7. November 13, 2007 at 5:50 pm

    How beautiful! I love autumn. And I love it when the leaves get red.

  8. Dark Orpheus
    November 14, 2007 at 4:24 am

    “oh my word its a zombie!!!!” — or it could just be your colleague. Or your boss. ;p

    Oh, the soul-stealing tedium of work.

    I love places where you can literally see the seasons change in the colours around you. I like how the leaves are turning this warm colours. Thanks for posting these.

    You know, from the pictures you’re been sharing, it seems to me you’re actually something of a romantic? ๐Ÿ™‚

  9. jean pierre
    November 14, 2007 at 8:26 pm

    STEPHANIE:

    autumn is beautiful, isn’t it!? (the sweeping up of the leaves is a pain, though…!)

    yeah… i went to work a bit warier this morning… anyone with anything resembling a lurch was carefully scrutinised!

    NYMETH:

    i’m glad you like the pics ๐Ÿ™‚

    DARK ORPHEUS:

    oh no, don’t say it… as i said above to stephanie, i’ve been a lot warier now of anyone showing zombie-like symptoms…!

    i agree, being able to visibly see the seasons change is very cool. it makes you that much more aware of the cycle of things.

    a romantic? well, i guess i am rather… i think i’m just surprised that you deduced that from the pictures.

  10. November 22, 2007 at 5:34 am

    Those are great. I’ve done so much walking on account of the new dog and a side benefit from that is spending much more time out of doors, in all sorts of weather, that I would not have otherwise. I’ve been able to really enjoy the fall and hope to enjoy the winter as well.

  11. jean pierre
    November 22, 2007 at 12:57 pm

    oh, that sounds brilliant! that really is a nice benefit.

    you say you’re going out in all sorts of weather – does the dog mind? or do they like it?

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

