Home > books, comics, dvds > acquisitions and what i’m busy reading

acquisitions and what i’m busy reading

 

yahoo! i recently bought a few little treats for myself! i haven’t bought any books or dvds in a while now and, while  i can’t buy any books really, because of my (self-imposed) tbr pile restrictions, i can buy comics! so i got:

the dark knight! which i’m very happy about. i’ve only read this once, but have never owned it, so it is so nice to have it now! i like the book so much and i often feel like just paging through it.

daredevil: love and war. i love bill sienkiewicz and frank miller – so a book by both of them is going to be great fun! this is my “graphic novel that i haven’t yet read” present to myself.

the other two are the next issues (for me) of “y: the last man”. when our comic shop closed down my subscription ended with it too… 😦 and money has been so tight that i couldn’t afford to get any new issues until now. i’m glad to finally be getting on with this one again – although the series has lost its lustre over the last 15 issues or so… but that said, this last story arc was better than the last two!

 

charlotte loves this and has often talked about it – so i bought it for her. we watched the first episode the other night and i really enjoyed it! i was particularly impressed with that cole guy, the sheriff. i’ve seen him in quite a lot of things but he has never seemed any more than competent. in this (if the first episode is anything to go by) he is excellent.

at the mo i’m still reading dracula and loving it! i’m now where lucy has finally died (her mortal death) and van helsing has met with mina and jonathan. i especially liked this bit ’cause i’d never seen it before and it makes a kind of logical sense. in fact, this whole thing, the whole book makes sense. its so wonderfully plotted and paced. amazing.

i’m also (still) reading a book of 24 one act plays, a part of my “continuing education”, but also for fun of course! i’ve read some hilarious plays in there!

and then i’ve recently started “earth abides”. its started well, but is a little slow now. annoyingly, someone spoiled the premise for me – and its a really nice premise too 😦 so don’t listen what anyone says happens in this one. although, the premise is the premise, and without knowing the premise one would never buy the book in the first place… hmmm… a dilemna. i suppose its just ’cause i bought it from a second-hand shop ’cause i fancied the cover and it won some award. i was going to read it anyway and so i guess i was upset about the premise being spoiled for me – even though one would probably read it anywhere on amazon or wherever…

anyway, its quite all right so far. i particularly like how the book feels. it just opens so nicely. it obeys me. it just falls open so nicely.

by the way, don’t you just love that cover for “dracula”?! 🙂

Categories: books, comics, dvds
  1. November 30, 2007 at 11:34 am

    Oh I love American Gothic.

    Sheriff Buck is such a nasty piece of work, and yet, you just can’t help loving him

  2. November 30, 2007 at 2:26 pm

    I love that cover for The Dark Knight! It’s great! So is that a collection of several issues? I may have to order that! Glad to hear you’re enjoying Dracula. I’ve let it sink in for nearly 2 months now and the longer it sinks in, the more I love that story. It really was an amazing book. And I see you finally found a cool cover! Nice!

  3. jean pierre
    November 30, 2007 at 2:36 pm

    FENCE:

    you’re absolutely right about that sheriff! he’s horrid, but wonderful. very charismatic!

    CHRIST:

    oh yeah, i love that DK cover. love it love it love it! i also love the dk2 cover. have you seen it. here’s a pic:

    but yeah, the DK cover is just so… i don’t know why its so cool. its just batman. and i suppose pop-arty. iconic. yeah, thats it!

    and that is one gorgeous cover for “dracula”! i love that too! 🙂

    i’m really enjoying it and i can well imagine its a book that sinks into ones subconscious after you’ve read it and lodges there…

  4. Dark Orpheus
    November 30, 2007 at 3:30 pm

    OMG! I loved American Gothic! I was so upset when it got cancelled!

    “The Buck stops here.”

  5. November 30, 2007 at 11:35 pm

    I have a vague recollection of what American Gothic was, but that is all. Look forward to hearing what you think of the series after you’ve seen more episodes.

    You’ve got some great buys there, and comic buys are always fun! I’m really looking forward to the graphic novel challenge in 2008.

    So glad to hear that you are enjoying Dracula. It is an amazingly written novel and I love it so much. You certainly have some more interesting reading ahead of you!

  6. December 1, 2007 at 6:21 pm

    Oh…American Gothic was cool!! I loved that show!!

    I guess I’m going to have to start getting out there and buying some comics of my own!! Do you know how long it’s been since I”ve done that?? But I did sign up for the Graphic Novels challenge. Should be fun!!

  7. jean pierre
    December 3, 2007 at 12:08 pm

    DARK ORPHEUS:

    yeah, its quite a surprise, based upon how good it is so far… at least it managed to run for 22 episodes. apparantly 4 out of the 22 in our set weren’t aired…?

    i hope the series at least ends sort of conclusively…

    CARL:

    dracula is great! great great great! just so polished i feel. so smart and finely written. sort of archaic words those (in those senses) but it describes how i feel about it.

    STEPHANIE:

    yeah, the graphic novel challenge is going to be great! i mean, i already read about that many (at least) a year, but its going to be cool to see what others read and what they make of them…

  8. December 3, 2007 at 3:17 pm

    That is a great Dracula cover, yes.

    I like your “I can’t buy books but I can buy comics” logic. I should start using it myself 😛

    Anyway, those all sound really good! I look forward to your reviews.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

