Home > general > i’m an uncle!!!

i’m an uncle!!!

last tuesday, at exactly 5pm, liam fourie was born! i’m so happy!

this might come as a surprise to my family and friends, as i’m notoriously scrooge-like when it comes to babies. i just really am not interested and i can’t pretend to be. i look at a baby and i see… a baby. like a seed. and i don’t get excited about seeds.

in fact, if i’m honest, for the most part i find babies really annoying. all that crying and neediness…

thats not to say i don’t want one of my own! i definitely do, and can’t wait to, but other people’s babies…

but it was all different when little liam was conceived. from the first moment i heard that johanita was pregnant i was just so excited. i didn’t know what had come over me! i didn’t expect to be so excited at all. i’d thought about it and was looking forward to it, but when i heard the news i just suddenly felt so happy! 😀

now he’s arrived and i just can’t wait to meet the little guy! i’ll be going to south africa for a while in early january and then i’ll finally get to see him and talk to him and see how’s he’s doing.

my affinity for him is especially weird if one considers that i’m not even his real uncle! quintin (the father – wow, its weird to be calling quintin a father!) is my friend, we’re not related.

but it feels as if we’re brothers. we’ve known each other since he was 4 and i was 5. in fact, it was just before my 5th birthday when we met. i still remember it, i was walking outside and i heard a crash. i went to see what had happened and saw that he’d crashed his bike. we got talking and it wasn’t long before we were both crashing our bikes, up and down the street. into pavements, in gutters, into cars, down ditches. we must’ve thought we were stuntmen or something? i don’t know, it was just fun to crash into things 🙂

and now he’s a dad! i’m so proud of him.

Categories: general
  1. December 3, 2007 at 3:00 pm

    Awww. Cute.

    Congrats to all involved.
    And seeds are exciting, think of all that potential 🙂

  2. December 3, 2007 at 3:15 pm

    Congratulations to all! The baby is so cute.

    I do understand not being too excited about babies. I am like that too. That normally gets me some weird looks, because since I am female people assume I am going to be all over babies, feeling all maternal and whatnot. Anyway, that’s not to say I don’t like children. And having a baby in the family must be so cool. I look forward to the day my brother has children. I’m going to tell them stories and buy them lots of books for Christmas!

  3. December 3, 2007 at 7:01 pm

    Yay, congrats! He’s a cutie! I am the opposite, I just love babies to death. Anytime I see a baby I just want to pick it up and snuggle it. This is especially nice to do with other people’s babies as you can then hand them back over when the poo or the crying starts. Although I don’t mind newborn baby crying. It is quite funny actually and sweet.

  4. December 3, 2007 at 8:06 pm

    Oh my…is he not the cutest?!! Congrats to the new “uncle”…it’s so cool how this guy melted your heart before he even made his appearance!

    Me? Total sucker for babies! I’d have a hundred of them, except for the fact that they grow up…

  5. December 3, 2007 at 11:09 pm

    I am very much not a baby person. I get excited when my friends have them, or people that I know have them, but when they try to hand them over to me and stuff I look at them like they are crazy! I also do not want one of my own at all. I was thinking the other day it would be great to meet a guy that comes with kids… then, I sort of have them, but sort of don’t… hehe

    Anyways, congrats to you!

  6. December 4, 2007 at 6:19 am

    Wait a second…I thought you had a guy, Kailana….

  7. jean pierre
    December 4, 2007 at 11:57 am

    oh wow! thanks everyone! i didn’t expect such nice (and so many( responses!

    and isn’t little liam just the cutest! 🙂

    FENCE:

    seeds… hmmm… i don’t know. but i see what you mean.

    NYMETH:

    i’m glad you can relate. it must be even harder for you then, being a woman…!

    and oh yes, i can’t wait to start reading to him either! oh thats going to be great! and like your little nephews and neices to be, liam will be getting lots of books! 🙂

    CARL:

    oh thank you!

    you know, you liking babies is like a piece in the puzzle of you. it makes so much sense – you’re so caring.

    and you know what you say about a newborn baby crying makes sense… hmmm… maybe i’ll feel different the next time i hear it?

    DEBI:

    thank you!

    i’m glad to hear you like babies. i don’t know why i am, to be honest. i think i’ve just gone baby-mad!

    and oh yes, little liam has totally melted this frosty old heart…! 🙂

    KAILANA:

    thank you!

    well, as you know, i can relate to your feelings on kids…

    meeting a guy with kids!! haha! thats like “batteries included” – “kids included”. that certainly would save you a lot of hassle…

  8. December 7, 2007 at 10:36 pm

    Oh my. He is just the cutest little thing!! Congrats on becoming an uncle!!

  1. March 10, 2008 at 7:13 pm

Leave a Reply

