Home > books, general > guess what arrived today?

guess what arrived today?

 

my secret santa present!! 🙂

hmmm… what can it be? is it a book? a toy?

or a dvd…?

its a book! 😀

yahoo!! “a game of thrones” by george r. r. martin, the first part of “the song of fire and ice”. thank you kailana, what a cool gift! (i’m guessing its you – i couldn’t find your real name anywhere on your blog… if it is you, let me know so that i can send you a proper “thank you” email!)

i’m curious kailana (i’m always curious about this question), what made you choose that one out of all the ones in my amazon wishlist? i’m assuming thats where you got it from.

as it is its a very well chosen gift.

and if pooky approves then it must be good!

i was really looking forward to getting this in the new year – its one of the books i was particularly excited to read. i discovered it through chris – i’d been talking to him about it and he’d said that it was one of his all-time favourites. i was immediately impressed, so in it went into my wishlist – and here it is in my hands today 🙂 

now i can’t wait till my secret santee (does that work?) receives their present…!

Categories: books, general
  1. December 12, 2007 at 10:27 pm

    Yep, it was me. I am so glad it made it there before Christmas! And, I bought it for you because it is supposed to be high class fantasy, but I have yet to read it! I keep starting it and then getting distracted with other things. Maybe we can cheer each other on in the new year. haha. Merry Christmas!

  2. December 12, 2007 at 11:17 pm

    Awesome gift! Love the pictures of you opening it! That’s definite, legitimate happiness with your gift on your face! I read that one during the Once Upon a Time Challenge this past year and it will definitely be in my top books of the year and will easily be one of my favorite fantasy books ever. It took me a little while to get used to, but once I got comfortable with Martin’s world and his characters I was really hooked. I plan on starting the second book, A Clash of Kings in a week or so actually! It’s just as thick as A Game of Thrones, but I’m going to try to finish it by the end of the year. Can’t wait to hear your thoughts on it!

  3. December 13, 2007 at 7:30 am

    I also love the pictures of you opening it 😀 It’s so exciting to see everyone get their presents. That is one of those books I’ve always wanted to read but never have. Maybe for the next Once Upon a Time.

    I think Santee works, yup 😛 I googled and it seems to be used quite often. It sounds goofy, but it’s supposed to.

  4. December 13, 2007 at 2:51 pm

    Very Cool gift! This was such a fun idea!! I’m glad you got a book that you wanted!! I did too!!

    Great pictures….you are just too cute!!

  5. December 14, 2007 at 12:52 am

    Great gift! I like the cover on that one. I have a copy that Jeff got me and I’ve been a bad friend and have only read the first few chapters. I need to remedy that in the coming year.

  6. Jeff S.
    December 15, 2007 at 6:30 pm

    Don’t listen to Carl. He is the best. I couldn’t ask for a better friend. See I can say this now becuse he most likely won’t revisit this post. 🙂

    I so hope you enjoy the book. Growing up, my first introduction to fanatsy was The Hobbit and LOTR which I both read when I was around 14 years old. Those books had a HUGE impact on me and on shapeing what I loved to read for many years to come. The magical tale that Tolkien created sparked my love of fantasy reading. I read fantasy books heavily over the next ten years. After college ( university ) and through the early years of my married life my fantasy reading tapered off. I don’t know if it was just changes in my life or finding too many books that seemed formulaic or writers just trying to repeat Tolkien. I grew bored with fantasy and I moved onto other reading. Flash forward twenty years to my mid thirties and I discover two authors who make me believe again in magic. My fire has been rekindled by Neil Gaiman ( who Carl steered me too ) and George RR Martin ( recommended by another friend – Ben ). They write in different kinds of fantasy worlds but for me they have ” moved ” me with their stories and I hope this “santee” gift touches you as well. I know the book is huge but don’t give up on it. I can’t wait to hear thoughts on it someday. I’m can’t quite put into words how excited I am for you.

    Also thank you for shareing your photos with us. Your tree looks great and give pooky a pet for me.

    Happy holidays to you and Charlotte!

  7. jean pierre
    December 16, 2007 at 11:56 am

    KAILANA:

    thank you! what a hectic week i’ve had! i still haven’t had a chance to email you properly! i haven’t even been able to get onto my or other people’s blogs until now…

    yeah, i hope we spur each other on to! i’m particularly excited ’cause two of my good blog friends, chris and jeff, really liked it!

    CHRIST:

    i am really really looking forward to it! especially since you like it so much! it seems i merged your and jeff’s feelings on the book – but i do remember you reading and enjoying it and that made a big impression on me.

    can’t wait!!

    NYMETH:

    ah, nymeth, this whole secret santa thing has been a big success! if everyone gets as thoughtful presents as i have then you have spread a lot of joy around our little blogland!

    thank you!

    STEPHANIE:

    i’m glad you got the book you wanted too! we’re both so lucky!!

    JEFF AND CARL – responses to your comments will follow soon. gotta run now!

  8. December 17, 2007 at 10:57 am

    I have this on my tbr pile as well. I’ve heard so much good stuff about it, but don’t want to dive in until the series is finished.

  9. jean pierre
    December 17, 2007 at 11:01 am

    CARL:

    it’ll be cool to see what we both make of it!

    JEFF:

    jeff! i have done you a diservice! i merged you with chris! the song of fire and ice is one of YOUR favourite novels (or set of novels, at least). i knew that chris had liked it a lot, but i evidentally thought he liked it more than he did.

    well, i am doubly – no triply excited – to be reading this now! firstly because chris liked it, secondly because you did, and thirdly because i now remember our conversation and fourthly (there was a secret cosmic quadrupelly, but i didn’t want to mention it just yet as it would blow your mind to fathom it. right at this moment your mind is just ready…), and quadrupelly (yes!) because its one of your favourites! the fourth makes me particularly excited because its such a great experience to read one of another person you like’s favourite novels – especially when its of a genre or style that you enjoy.

    also, because of the impact it had on you – its more than one of your favourites, its a really special book!

    i know what you mean about all these writers regurgitating tolkien. you can’t blame them, of course, but it is very tiresome. its so cool that this guy has transcended that.

    i can’t wait to let you know how i find it! i have some prior commitments to unread books, but afterwards i’m diving into that baby!

    and i gave little pooks a pet from you 🙂

  10. December 17, 2007 at 2:09 pm

    Be careful what you say, Jeff!!! 😉 I know when you are sleeping, I know when you’re awake….

    Just because I’ve redeemed myself on occasion doesn’t take away from the fact that I have yet to truly taste my friend’s favorite literary delicacy. 2008 is a year of redemption, isn’t it?

  11. Jeff
    December 18, 2007 at 6:31 am

    You guys crack me up! 🙂 In all seriousness the novel is HUGE and JP, I understand all about previous reading commitments, believe me. I’m also slow reader and it took me months to get through A Game of Thrones ( I took some breaks during it because the story can be quite dark at times ). So no worries gentlemen if you’re not able to get through it until later this year. Please promise me though you will share your honest thoughts on it when you finish.

    Also, don’t feel bad if it doesn’t effect you like it did me. I feel that books touch us all in different ways especially at different times in our lives. The impact Tolkien, Gaiman, and Martin had on me I’m sure has to do with events in my life at the time I read them.

    I think when I read Tolkien as a youth I was touched by a sense of wonder and honor I needed at that time in my life. Years later Gaiman and Martin renewed my faith in fanatsy in ways that effected me just as much in a way that I needed at a more mature point in my life.

    On a funny side note that is related to this series. With both of your recent blog photos of ice and frost it reminds me of one of the over lying theme’s of the series ” Winter is coming “. That statement is made multiple times in the books. I may need to reread this book as well in 08′. All this talk about it has brought a smile to my face.

  12. jean pierre
    December 18, 2007 at 9:35 am

    FENCE:

    thats one way of not getting worried about a book on your tbr pile 😉

  13. jean pierre
    December 18, 2007 at 7:56 pm

    JEFF:

    i’ll definitely let you know what i think of it!

    and yeah, what you say about novels affecting us at different times in our lives is very true. if not a “right time” then there are definitely “better times” to be reading novels and also times that are quite special – where its the right novel, at the right time.

    that is so weird – that thing about “winter is coming”. what a weird coincidence…!

  14. December 19, 2007 at 12:12 pm

    If your cat likes it, what more recommendation do you need?!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

