Home > books > oh dear

oh dear

i bought books.

i don’t know whether it was because i was becoming complacent with the imminent demise of my monster or because the weight of my quest was finally beginning to tell on me, but i bought two books.

this is what happened. i was on my way back to work when i passed by the £2 book store. my eye just glanced over the window and i saw catwoman. the cover looked so cool that i just had to have another look – plus my mind was telling me “its only £2…”.

initially i couldn’t find it, and as i was searching for it my eye happened across a striking cover with a skull on it! it was a book of short essays on hamlet. i love hamlet.

as i paged through i noticed that it didn’t look like it would be too taxing a read and that it was only 140 pages… so i didn’t put it down when i carried on looking for the catwoman book. eventually i had to fetch the display copy from the window, as that was the only copy they had remaining.

lo and behold the book was a beauty and before i realised what had happened i was holding not one but two books in my hands, having already made the wordless promise of buying them.

you know what promise i mean. its a promise one seems to make to another part of oneself, not very much different to the promise a mother makes to a child. that promise, as we all know, is a pact – and there will be tears if it is broken.

i made a quick risk assessment and realised that actually, even though i haven’t bought a single impulse or non-pre-arranged buy in 3 years, and was going to wait until i had finished my tbr pile before i did, getting these two books isn’t all that bad.

for one thing, that monster is in seriously bad shape and i don’t see him getting up. right now he’s on a life support system, and if his monster parents were around then the doctor would be telling them that he was sorry and that there was nothing that he could do. 2 teeny tiny books are hardly going to resuscitate him.

also, as i said, they’re tiny. really teeny. the hamlet one is 140 pages with big line spaces and lots of chapters and the catwoman woman is the same length and full of pictures, veering toward coffee table book territory. they really aren’t very long reads at all. plus they’re only £2 each and i won’t be able to get them again for that price in that condition – the hamlet one goes for about £9 and the catwoman one can be found for a little less.

and they’re beautiful!

so i thought, all that considered, i could definitely get them. and wouldn’t it be nice to just buy a book or two again?

and so i did just that 😀

as i write this they are now sitting beside me – my new friends. i’m so happy. they’re so pretty. let me share.

this is what you see as you open the book.

i love the layout. the style is very very similar to les daniel’s complete history of batman. i just love that juxtapositioning/closeup old strips/pop art type layout!

ooh! that is just too cool 🙂

love love LOVE this spread

now i’m just flicking through to show you how the rest of the book looks.

this is really a nice co-incidence ’cause i actually have the comic where this is taken from – it comes from batman – and this was one of the first times (if not the first) i actually saw catwoman.

Categories: books
  1. March 6, 2008 at 8:49 pm

    I have that Catwoman book and it is quite nice.

    “getting these two books isn’t all that bad” isn’t that just like the addict to justify the ‘one small drink’. Ha, ha!!! You crack me up. I applaud you making it as long as you did and I applaud your future efforts to finish up your goal.

  2. jean pierre
    March 6, 2008 at 9:17 pm

    damn you’re quick off the mark, carl! i was still busy editing this post (i always get too excited and publish them when i think they’re done but invariably have one or two little mistakes!).

    ah you have it too! cool.

    yes, it does sound a bit like “addict” reasoning.

    thanks! i don’t think there’ll be any more slipups (oh dear, no matter what i say i can’t help but sound like an addict…! its like that great, and completely unbelievable, protest “i’m not drunk!”).

  3. March 6, 2008 at 10:06 pm

    That Catwoman book rocks! I love books like that. Definitely one to enjoy, especially for you as I know you’re a big Batman fan! Aren’t you? lol…

    Say it with me JP: “Hi, My name is Jeanne Pierre and I’m a book-a-holic”. Welcome to the club! I agree with Carl, congrats on making it this far and good job on continuing with your goal 😉 I’ve found that it’s near impossible to swear off book buying. It’s all in just having constraint…or maybe we don’t even need constraint…what the hell, I say we all turn our houses into libraries :p

  4. March 6, 2008 at 10:16 pm

    lol! Sorry, I don’t mean to laugh at your moment of weakness, but there’s something about “oh dear. I bought books” that just cracks me up 😛

    Let me see if I got this right: you pass a £2 bookshop on your way home from work every day and it was only today that you bought two books? I admire your strength. I really, really do.

    Like you said, they are small, and there’s nothing that can be done to save the monster at this point. So just enjoy your new books with no guilt 😀

  5. March 7, 2008 at 11:17 am

    I could have sworn I commented on this post yesterday…I guess my comment was sucked away by one of those Internet black holes 😛

    Let me try to reconstruct it:

    I don’t mean to laugh at your moment of weakness, but there’s something about “oh dear. I bought books” that just cracks me up 😀

    You actually walk past a £2 bookshop every day on your way from work, and yet it was only today that you gave in? I admire your strength. I really do. I’d never have lasted that long.

    Like you said, the monster is in a terminal state, and it won’t be too tiny books that will miraculously cure him. So enjoy your new books with no guilt!

  6. March 7, 2008 at 2:53 pm

    Thank you! I am still in undeniable awe at the way you’ve been inflicting damage on the monster. Major arteries have been severed…no little band-aid is going to cure him now. But it is nice to see you, too, are a mere mortal with foibles like the rest of us! Enjoy your new treasures!

  7. March 7, 2008 at 4:47 pm

    Big spaces , lots of pictures .. makes all the difference *laugh*

  8. March 9, 2008 at 10:26 am

    …testing 123

  9. March 9, 2008 at 10:27 am

    …yay! Just trying to see if I could comment again. For some reason it hadn’t been working for the past few days. Here’s what I’d tried to say:

    I don’t mean to laugh at your moment of weakness, but there’s something about “oh dear. I bought books” that just cracks me up 😀

    You actually walk past a £2 bookshop every day on your way from work, and yet it was only today that you gave in? I admire your strength. I really do. I’d never have lasted that long.

    Like you said, the monster is in a terminal state, and it won’t be too tiny books that will miraculously cure him. So enjoy your new books with no guilt!

  10. March 11, 2008 at 12:54 pm

    You know you are surrounded by other addicts when we are all thrilled that you fell off the wagon! Ha! 🙂 Get back on that pedestal, buddy. We all need a hero.

  11. jean pierre
    March 11, 2008 at 11:03 pm

    CHRIS:

    “hi, my name is jean pierre de rosnay, and i’m an alchoholic”

    oh, that book is beautiful. i’m really enjoying dipping in and out of it.

    but yes, i think we’ll definitely have to turn our homes into libraries. speaking of which, on a serious note, i can’t wait to see each others’ libraries in 10 years – or even 30 or 40 years – time. can you just imagine it?

    DEBI:

    thanks for the vote of confidence! and yes, i am indeed very mortal…

    ELIZABETH:

    of course 😉

    NYMETH:

    thats weird… i hope this doesn’t happen often! please let me know if it does!!

    i’m glad you find it funny ’cause i was laughing about it too. i just had to share it ’cause it was so funny…

    thank you. its nice to have my fellow book buyers endorse this buy. i appreciate it. and will enjoy them!

    CARL:

    very true hahaha!

    “i need a hero!” don’t you just love that song?

    well, i’ve strapped in my survival knife, and tied my bandana, and packed (and clicked) my guns… the hero has arrived…

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

