Home > general > the rage

the rage

i forgot about this aspect of driving. how really little things can irritate you…

 

 

so this morning i park at the top of beaumont street, opposite the randolph hotel, to drop charlotte off. i’m sitting there waiting to get back into the traffic. then this bloke does this weird u-turn move in the middle of traffic and squeezes his nose in the small bit of loading-zone space in front of me.

 

 

i’m expecting him to carry on his weird 6-point turn manoeuvre, as he can’t possibly be wanting to park there.

 

 

can he?

 

 

no.

 

 

the bastard. he is indeed trying to park there. so i look at him incredulously. and then i think, well lets help the guy out, i’ll reverse a little and then he can manoeuvre himself into there.

 

so i reverse a little – and he comes slots in a bit. i reverse a little more, and he comes forward a little more. by this stage i’ve moved out of the parking zone. now theres enough space behind him to reverse into and park comfortably, but the guy wants more space. maybe he’s a nervous parallel parker (not that what he’s doing is remotely parallel, it isn’t even perpendicular).

 

so i reverse a little bit more. and then what does the guy do? he nudges forward, stops the car and gets out. he doesn’t reverse back in. the fucker just wanted to push me back and had no intention of needing to reverse properly into place. whats more, is i can’t get out now, ’cause his nose is right up against mine. so i have to reverse some more to get out.

 

 

and as the guy walks up onto the pavement i see that he’s got this randolf hotel outfit on, as if he’s some important head waiter or something. very important clearly. but he looks like a rough diamond without the diamond inside.

 

 

and, as he walks away he gives me this degenerate/nasty look. like something that crawled out from the dark ages.

 

 

and i sit there and think THE FUCKER!!!

 

 

and suddenly now i’m angry. i mean, not as much, ’cause i’ve had a chat to people and seen nice ducks and a pretty river on the way to work, but theres this anger inside me. unreleased. like sexual frustration.

 

 

and you know, i know its a small thing. i know that it is. but for some reason i can’t get over it. i don’t even know what it is thats bothering me about it? has it hurt my ego? my sense of justice? what? i don’t know.

 

  

 

its the silliest thing, but it just wont go away…

 

Categories: general
  1. April 25, 2008 at 10:37 am

    You know, I think I get it. I try very hard not to let what other people do ruin my day. I figure as long as I’m being ever kind and fair, that’s what matters. Yet still, something about someone being rude or arrogant or unjust can just set my blood to boiling inside. No matter how hard I try not to let it, sometimes it can taint my whole day. And well, that just sucks, doesn’t it? Hope by now you’re feeling better, and have put that asshole behind you!

  2. April 25, 2008 at 10:41 am

    I don’t think it is the silliest thing. I think you took offence at some one who showed absolutely no regard for you when you went out of your way to think about them. It bugs the crap out of me too when stuff like that happens

  3. April 25, 2008 at 1:15 pm

    My darling wife can attest to the fact that I am a pissy driver. I get easily irritated and if the words ‘idiot’ and ‘moron’ are not steadily streaming out of my mouth then a torrent of profanity is. I hate drivers! 🙂 You’re not alone with your rage, believe me.

  4. April 25, 2008 at 3:23 pm

    Argh, how annoying! I won’t say anything like “don’t like it get to you” because I know it’s not something you can control. I hope the rest of your day is better!

  5. April 25, 2008 at 4:30 pm

    You’re not alone in your road rage, JP. As much as I try to be a kind person, the road is the one place where it all just breaks down and I release all the demons of hell upon the world…and deservingly so sometimes :p In my opinion, a bit of hollering and cursing is very conservative compared to what you’d like to do in situations such as the one you described…what a jerk :p Hope he’s left your mind now…Despite my complaining here on your blog, all of that is not worth hanging onto…get pissed and then let it go 😉

  6. April 26, 2008 at 5:49 pm

    I often think I’d like to drive a tank. I don’t necessarily need any ammo for it, but man would those big treads make short work of any driver silly enough to annoy me.
    I’m almost at that level of maturity where the one bad thing that happens in a day, and tends to try and dominate, slips behind all the goods.

    ps: love your new place photos.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

