Home > general > the hunt for the city of ember

the hunt for the city of ember

… oh, us book lovers can be such a pedantic lot, can’t we! 😀

so i’d read loads of fun reviews on carl’s once upon a time review site, and decided on one book that looks just wonderful – THE CITY OF EMBER.

i read the review on fuzzy cricket and was just captivated. thank you so much fuzzy cricket for a wonderful and mouth-watering review!

so now i want to buy it. but… i want that exact copy!

isn’t it beautiful…? all thick and pretty… with that auro of copper…

however, thats not the edition thats in circulation anymore! they now have a new edition:

 

and i don’t want that one, i want the one with the light bulb on it.

also, they have a reprint of the old one, and that has this bloody sticker thingie on it that says “now a major motion picture” or something like that.

i don’t want that one either. i want the one that i want. not the new one and not the one with some motion picture nonsense.

i also don’t want the hardcover edition. it does look nice, but it doesn’t look like the one i want.

the one i want is the one i want. in fact, i’d be most happy if i could get that exact beat-up, library one.

i was afraid of buying one online and then not getting what i wanted, so i thought to myself the best course of action would be to actually see the thing in my hands and then i’d know what i was getting.  so at lunch i went into town and went to the waterstones, the wh smiths, the blackwell’s and borders – and they either didn’t have it or they had the new one!!

so, back to amazon!

i had a look and found one with the picture looking just as i like it. i thought i’d email them and ask them to confirm that that is indeed the cover and that its paperback and that theres no motion picture stuff on it.

but then i saw they’re all in america and i can’t wait 10-12 working days!

and its the same with ebay’s editions – they’re all in america too!

so its back to amazon to see if there’s something i missed and i see that they have a library “binding edition”. could this be like the one in the picture? what do they define as library binding? does anyone know? is it like one of those large (hardback size) paperbacks? or is it just a tough hardback? or what?

… and i was so excited ’cause i’ve been waiting till today to buy it, ’cause today is my pay-day, but now i can’t buy it ’cause time is up and the day is over and i have to go back home and there isn’t any internet at home and now i won’t be able to buy it today.

i guess there’s tomorrow…

so i don’t know what to do now. i wish i had a problem with ghosts, ’cause at least then i’d know who to call.

i guess i’m gonna have to find out its isbn or something…?

anyone have any other suggestions? is there an easier way than just waiting for it to arrive from america…?

Categories: general
  1. May 21, 2008 at 5:10 pm

    Oh JP, you’re breaking my heart! Truly you are! You are seriously making me want to hop on a plane and hand deliver the copy that is sitting in my TBR pile. I think I might just do it, if Annie wouldn’t then kill me for giving away her book. So, I’m afraid all I can do is wish you good luck on your quest!

  2. May 21, 2008 at 7:54 pm

    Unfortunately I have no suggestions, but I’ll say I know how it feels to not only want a book fast, but to want a specific edition of a book that the world seems to be conspiring to keep awat from you!

  3. May 21, 2008 at 7:58 pm

    That’s so sad 😦 I know exactly what you mean though! I am SO particular about my book covers and I will go to great lengths to get EXACTLY the cover that I want and will have no ifs, ands, or buts about it. Unfortunately I don’t really know what a library binding is…I’ve always wondered that myself, but my best guess would be that it’s a hardback version, not the paperback version. And I completely despise those “now a major motion picture” stickers on books!!! God I hate those! Or the “Oprah’s Book Club” stickers…can’t they just let the damn book be! I hope you find your edition soon!!

  4. May 21, 2008 at 9:01 pm

    It’s such a sad thing when we can’t find the covers we love. That motion picture sticker is just awful!

    Glad the review was useful! Hope all ends well with your quest to find that cool cover. It is gorgeous in real life.

  5. May 27, 2008 at 4:27 pm

    If I hadn’t already given my copy away I’d send it to you. That is the ‘original’ paperback copy here in the U.S. that you are looking for. I too hate…deplore!…that “now a major motion picture” thing when they actually print it on the book vs. applying an easy to peel off sticker. Such a travesty to books!

  6. Amber Baynor
    May 29, 2008 at 9:58 pm

    Did you ever find a copy of it? It is an amazing book. I’ve probably read it a dozen times, haha.
    I’m actually an official ambassador for the upcoming film adaptation of City of Ember (10/10/08). I decided to come to you because I have some exclusive first-look pictures that you might enjoy and share with your blog readers.
    Email me if you want them, I’d love to share them with you.
    Bill Murray looks great as the villainous Mayor Cole.
    I really think you’d like the film because of you clearly seem interested in the book!
    Would love to be in touch!
    Best,
    Amber Baynor
    Official Ambassador
    amber.cityofember.ambassador@gmail.com

  7. Grace
    October 23, 2008 at 10:05 pm

    Help. I am a special education teacher and I am teaching the book City of Ember. I downloaded it from iTunes but I need 15 paperback copies for students to read along with the audio.
    I found 25 copies on ebay @ $3.40 but the shipping is a killer ($4 for first and $2 for each additional book).

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

