Home > football, sport > wake me up

wake me up

last night my beloved france played holland in football. it was our second match in euro 2008. after having drawn the first with romania we really needed to win this one.

we lost 4-1.

there are so many feelings and thoughts running through my mind right now that i don’t really know what to think. i don’t think i can give a coherent description of the game and my view of it probably doesn’t corrolate well with what actually took place. 

but here is my impression of what happened:

we lost.

holland scored 4 goals.

the first, scored by kuyt from a corner, came when holland were starting to threaten and during the next 10 minutes holland were all over us. for the rest of the match france utterly dominated and Holland scored three goals from four counter-attacks.

right in the middle of all that there was a moment which was heartening and terribly sad in equal measure. we scored – and for just one moment (literally) the score was 2-1. by then we’d conceded the first of our counter-attack goals and were already feeling hard done by. we felt we should’ve scored so much earlier already. but when that goal came i was convinced the tide was going to change.

 

normally when you pull one back from 2-0 you hope there’s a chance. you hope you can turn the game; you hope you can equalize. but when we scored, for briefest (and saddest) of moments i knew we were going to score again and draw level.

i knew it.

and – in fact – i thought unless holland rally we were going to win! we were playing so well at the time (a bizarre statement considering the score was 2-0 at the time) running at them, attacking in wave after wave, dominating the possession, that once we scored i knew more goals were going to come.

but they didn’t. at least not for us. i didn’t even have a moment to start enjoying the release of having finally broken through, a moment of knowing that the game was finally going our way, that we were going to turn it around… before holland countered once again and the ball was in the back of the net.

it was so sad.

i couldn’t and still can’t believe it.

and then apparantly there was another. sneijder, i think. one of them dutch people…

hours later i now look at that scoreline and i simply don’t understand it. its like a sick joke. like one of those ridiculous dreams you have, where the instant you wake up you know it wasn’t real.

you laugh and go pft! that was so silly! terrifying, but so silly…

only, for some reason i can’t seem to wake up.

Categories: football, sport Tags: ,
  1. June 14, 2008 at 2:24 pm

    This is not a good time to say I was cheering for Holland, is it? 😛

    But I understand how you feel, JP, and now I’m sad on your behalf. I was surprised with the result – France is always so good, I was half expecting them to not only win this game but the whole thing. I’m sorry 😦

  2. June 15, 2008 at 1:41 pm

    Well, at least your lot made it to the Euros. We haven’t qualified for anything in an age.

  3. jean pierre
    June 15, 2008 at 4:36 pm

    NYMETH:

    haha! well, if holland weren’t playing france then i would’ve supported them myself! i really like their playing style.

    its very sweet of you to be sad on my behalf! thanks for your concern.

    FENCE:

    this is true… i was sad that they didn’t make it too – i always watch them when they play. i guess its corny, but theres quite a lot of romance attached to ireland for me.

  4. Jeff S.
    June 17, 2008 at 2:34 am

    I’m sad as well JP! I’ve been cheering for France as well and was bummed when I saw the final score. I didn’t catch the game though they’ve been running the games late at night here in the states on ESPN 2. I have caught parts of some of the games. It’s been really exciting what I’ve seen. I saw half of an Italian game against Romania I believe and another game with Russia vs. I’m ashamed to admit I forget who they were playing. I love this high level of play. I’m looking forward to Olympics in August. I’ll be cheering for the French again and my USA team if were in. I haven’t heard which teams are in the Olympics yet.

  5. jean pierre
    June 17, 2008 at 5:52 pm

    ah, jeff, i’m glad to know i have a brother-in-arms…

    i’ve also caught bits and pieces here and there (have been so busy lately!) and i agree, they’ve been really exciting! and the italy romania game was very cool! full of drama and good attacking football.

    the level of play is really high, you’re right. the stakes and the standards are so high that teams pay for the smallest of mistakes.

    glad to hear you’ll still be supporting france for the olympics!

  6. June 17, 2008 at 7:26 pm

    I am so sorry. I can certainly relate. Many are the memories from my younger days on up through recent times where I sat stunned, not willing to believe that ‘my team’ could have lost. You have my sympathy!

  7. jean pierre
    June 17, 2008 at 9:14 pm

    ah, thanks carl.

    and 45 minutes ago it sadly got worst.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

