Home > books, reading > a relaxing little read before work

a relaxing little read before work

ah… this morning i had a very nice relaxing little read before work.

charlotte goes to the gym before work every morning, so as a result i get into work quite early. as of late its been a very handy opportunity for me to catch up with work, but i’m pretty much up to date now and so this morning i decided to ease myself into the day a bit.

so at 08:15 i went to the canteen, got myself a croissant and sat down and had a nice read before work.

this is the view from where i was sitting.

i love starting my days this way. for a good few years i used to take the train to work every morning and i really got into the habit of reading in the mornings.

this morning i was reading heretics of dune. i’m into the last 25 pages now and its really hard to put down (which is also a part of the reason i decided to read a bit before work!). its so exciting!

i was reading about the avuncular miles teg. my bashar, who does amazing things. (a bashar is a kind of general in dune). if anyone has read dune then i can tell you that he is an atreides and, being a distant relation of paul, he has that atreides magic in him.

he talks to me too, my bashar. well, sort of. i read his thoughts and reading them is like listening to him speak. which is a very nice way to start the day.

Categories: books, reading Tags: , ,
  1. July 4, 2008 at 6:28 am

    Same here! I always relax and meditate to get my cluttered mind fixed for awhile. I also read at times after waking up.

    Learning something new is just the best way to start your stressful day.

  2. jean pierre
    July 4, 2008 at 8:19 am

    its great, isn’t it?! because i used to do it every morning when i took the train i really miss it now.

    and you’re right. its a nice way of focusing one’s mind. and its cool learning something new. what one learns isn’t always necessarily tangible, but there’s some learning of some sort going on. it opens up my mind a bit when i read in the morning.

  3. Jeff S.
    July 4, 2008 at 3:19 pm

    I would love to start the day reading. As it is now I usually get most of my reading done late at night after everyone else has gone to bed. It’s that night time solitude that allows me to ” step into another world “.

    I read the first 6 Dune novels 20 years ago and enjoyed them thourghly. It’s nice to hear talk about the Atreides family again. It brings back good memories. I always enjoyed the character of Duncan Idaho as well.

  4. July 5, 2008 at 2:59 pm

    I do most of my reading while commuting to work. It’s one of the benefit of not having to drive to work. Your hands and eyes are free to do whatever you want.

    I’m envious you can read at night. Reading at night sometimes gives me insomnia, especially if it’s an exciting book and I can’t put it down. Reading at night is bad for sleep.

    Can’t help but wonder – how come there’s nobody else around at the canteen?

  5. jean pierre
    July 5, 2008 at 5:18 pm

    JEFF:

    that makes sense, jeff. you have a family and all and i can imagine its rather busy in your house for most of the day…!

    when does everyone go to bed – how much time do you have to read at night? i read a little bit at night too, but only for about a half an hour.

    yeah, duncan idaho is certainly quite omnipresent in these books – which is amazing considering the span of years over which they take place! its also odd, ’cause out of all the characters from the first dune book, he was the one that made the least of an impression on me. but i can sort of see why herbert has used him for the subsequent books.

    the atreides are amazing, though, aren’t they? such a cool family!

    i really like herbert’s characters – they’re all depicted so realistically and qith such depth. as i read the books i fervently wish that i could see an image of how he sees the characters.

    DARK ORPHEUS:

    ah, thats brilliant! what do you commute on? a bus or a train? is it quiet? ’cause thats the other thing – finding a quiet spot! or are you able to zone out the noise?

    as for the people – well, there are people inside the canteen, but no-one sitting in the outside seating area. i guess its ’cause its not that warm at that time of the morning.

  6. July 5, 2008 at 5:34 pm

    The quiet would work for me but if anyone is around I tend to wander from the page and end up people watching ( or listening ). People are interesting!

  7. July 7, 2008 at 4:13 am

    I commute by bus. Sometimes I just use the iPod earplugs to block out the noises. Sometimes I wonder about the people who just sits there on the bus. What’s on their mind, if they’re not listening to music or reading? Do they daydream, or do they just “zone out” completely – like zombies.

    What a scary thought.

  8. July 7, 2008 at 12:59 pm

    Oh, that does sound heavenly! Reading is my favorite way to start the day…I try to get up before everyone else here so I can get in a bit. Somehow it just makes the day start off on a calmer note.

    I bought Dune a few months back. Have never read any of them. Aren’t I pathetic?!!

  9. jean pierre
    July 8, 2008 at 8:16 pm

    ELIZABETH:

    haha! i know what you mean! people are so distracting. i have to really take myself off at lunch ’cause its such a busy place.

    but in the mornings its fairly quiet and peaceful…

    DARK ORPHEUS:

    and the driver’s aren’t too bumpy and all?

    like i was saying to elizabeth above, people are so distracting!

    i think people on the bus are particularly fascinating ’cause they so often do just SIT there and zone out. you wonder about them!

    DEBI:

    you must have to get up really early!

    i agree, though, its such a good start to the day. and so calming.

    and don’t say you’re pathetic for not having read DUNE! loads of people haven’t read DUNE yet and many don’t like it. but for me its one of my favourites.

  10. July 9, 2008 at 4:28 pm

    That looks like a really nice place to read…even nicer if few people are around! I started today, the 9th, reading some of Murakami’s After the Dark this morning before work. I generally don’t read before work as I spend that time blogging, but the internet was down because of a massive storm yesterday and so reading was a very nice option. I used to get up really early in the spring and summer to sit out on the back deck and read but I haven’t done that yet this year. May be time to start doing that again.

  11. July 9, 2008 at 4:29 pm

    Oh, and I am one of the pathetic ones as well…ha!…as I have yet to read Dune. I own it, I’ve read the first couple of chapters, but I still haven’t read it. Someday soon!!!

  12. July 10, 2008 at 5:40 pm

    By the way, after finishing Murakami’s After Dark yesterday…and letting it marinate for awhile, I picked up Dune and started back on it! 🙂

  13. jean pierre
    July 11, 2008 at 7:06 am

    ah, excellent!! first murakami and now herbert. yahoo!

    i really, really, hope you enjoy it. its a book that has so much to offer and the more people who experience that the happier it makes me.

    and yes, its a perfect place to read. its so quiet. i’m all too easily distracted. i really struggle at lunch time. i go to the library here but it isn’t always as quiet as i would like. i get quite irate with the door that has an annoy quadruple closing style and then with people who come in loudly asking for books!

    but at least i can’t see any people to distract me, so its fairly peaceful!

    oh, reading outside on your deck in the spring and the summer sounds perfect! and while you’re mentioning that, this early morning reading probably won’t last through autumn… its just so much easier to get up and be active early in the morning in the summer…

  14. July 11, 2008 at 10:16 pm

    We have unfortunately hit that period where it is humid even in the early morning. And so I find myself pining for the fall and cooler temps. Oh well, I’m doing my best to enjoy the summer and not let hot humid weather drag me down.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

