Home > books > rip III

rip III

r.i.p. – quite appropriate considering i’ve been a walking corpse these days (in internet land).

deary me. our laptop just won’t get fixed. each time we send it off it only works for a few hours (literally) and then zonks out again. which is useful. this has been going on for more than a month now and as you can imagine is very frustrating!

on top of that i have had almost zero time for any internet browsing at work since i’ve been working like a maniac for the last few months. so i apologise for my internet invisibility.

but the rip challenge has arrived, and one thing i can share with you is reading horror books! 😀 i hope you all get your hands on some interesting choices and get lots of chills and thrills! i can’t wait to read some of your reviews when i get back. even if i have to print up some and take them home, i will get around to reading some reviews – as sharing and being a part of this experience is one of the things i most look forward to in the year!

so, what am i reading!? well, i have a feast of horror that awaits me!

peculia by richard sala

gothic humour comic of a girl who gets herself into all sorts of scrapes when she goes for walks in the woods. witches, monsters, madmen and evil children. hooray!

frankie

i’m really enjoying working my way through the classics. i read “dracula” last year and “dr. jeckyll and mr. hyde” the year before that. franke – here i come!

the werewolf of paris by guy endore

vampires? check. monsters? check. zombies? check. werewolves? check.

i’ve never read a werewolf story. its funny how they’re the only guys who haven’t had much popularity lately. vampires and zombies are doing great, but poor old werewolves… they’re relegated to small parts played by seth green or cheap-ass b-grade films. so i’m looking forward to unleashing the beast! 😀

poe – selected poetry

i’ve never read any poe and carl has really inspired me with his love for him! i’m particularly looking forward to reading the raven as i’ve seen and read so many allusions to it!

savage membrane – steve niles

i’m a big fan of steve niles’ cal mcdonald! i love the mix of noir and monsters. it works so well because you always have the poor beleaguered pi who bemoans his existence and with monsters in the mix this guy really has every excuse to moan! 😀

the graveyard book

just in time for rip III! thank you neil 🙂

Categories: books Tags:
  1. September 4, 2008 at 8:58 am

    Looks like a ripping list. I much prefer POe’s poetry to his prose and I hope you enjoy your selected works.

  2. September 4, 2008 at 10:12 am

    *waves* Hi JP! Nothing to apologize for, but you have been missed. I hope all the laptop problems are sorted out soon.

    As for your choices, Peculia sounds great! And I hope you enjoy Frankie. I wonder if the book will surprise you. I think Frankenstein was much more distorted in popular culture than his fellow monster.

    Love The Raven and can’t wait for The Graveyard Book 😀

  3. September 4, 2008 at 8:07 pm

    You are definitely in for a treat with Poe! And I hope you have a better experience with Frankie than I did last year. I really think I need to reread it sometime…everyone else seems to love it so, but I just wasn’t blown away. Some of your picks sound so fun! Like Peculia and The Werewolf of Paris. Oh, this is just such a wonderfully creepily fun time of year, isn’t it?

  4. September 4, 2008 at 8:58 pm

    JP! So good to hear from you again! Especially right around this time. You have some awesome books picked out for this one. Frankenstein seems to be a love it or hate it book and I for one love it. Like Nymeth, I’m interested to see what you think as it’s story has been so warped over the years. It’s an amazing book in my opinion. And Poe’s poetry is awesome! Annabel Lee has always been a favorite of mine…very creepy and morbid and a bit romantic. And of course we’re all looking forward to The Graveyard Book!!

  5. September 9, 2008 at 2:02 am

    Hey, how the hell did I miss that you were doing this?!?! Glad to have you on board.

    I am a HUGE Richard Sala fan and Peculia is my favorite of his characters. I have two original panels from this Peculia collection (actually from the comics that came out before the collection, but you know what I mean). I’ll be reviewing the three issues of Delphine for the R.I.P. Challenge at some point.

    Poe is just too cool. I’ve always been a fan of both the poetry and the prose. I was introduced to Poe in junior high and I still feel the thrill and chill when I reread stories that I’ve read many a time. So great.

    And of course I’ll definitely be reading The Graveyard Book.

    I look forward to your reviews, don’t be such a stranger!!! 😉

  6. jean pierre
    September 17, 2008 at 5:03 pm

    RHINOA:

    it is a fun list, isn’t it? i’ve really enjoyed it so far – i’ve steamrolled my way through it, its been that much fun!

    poe’s poetry is very nice indeed – very rhythmic.

    NYMETH:

    the laptop saga is still going on sadly… i can only hope it gets sorted sooner than later…

    peculia was a lot of fun and i’m enjoying frankie a lot. so far, i’m finding, its quite close to kenneth brannagh’s film version – but yeah, verrry different from any other versions!

    the raven was very cool to finaly read! it was so clever!

    CHRIST:

    yeah, i’m really enjoying my picks! and so far am enjoying frankie. i can’t say i love or hate it just yet… just enjoying it so far…

    i look forward to see how it develops and to see how far it differs from the branagh film, which is thus far quite similar to the novel.

    i really enjoyed poe’s poetry. very melancholic and beautifully rhythmic. annabel lee is one that actually stands out in my mind – just on first impression. the moment you said it (or i read you saying it) it rung a bell. his writing is like that, very echo-ey.

    very cool indeed 😀

    CARL:

    glad to be on board! 😀

    oh wow! i can’t believe you have some original richard sala stuff! wow wow wow! could you to a photo of it and show me?

    i enjoyed the poe poems a lot. they were very cool. its so rhythmic – i can imagine it must really sound amazing read aloud by a professional!

  7. October 3, 2008 at 1:49 am

    Oh where, oh where has my JP gone. Where oh where can he beeee?!?!

  8. October 3, 2008 at 1:53 am

    Oh, and yes, I plan on doing a Richard Sala post during the month of October and will post pics of my two originals when I do that…if you come out of hiding, that is!!!

  9. October 7, 2008 at 7:49 pm

    lol at Carl’s comment 😀 I was wondering the same. We miss you, JP!

  10. jean pierre
    October 8, 2008 at 8:39 am

    oh dear friends… i feel like some victim being sucked in under sinking sand. i hear your voices, but i can’t see you.

    i’m trying to come to the surface! honestly i am.

    hopefully i don’t die like atreu in “neverending story” (that must be one of my worst moments in cinema… 😦 )

  11. November 18, 2008 at 9:01 pm

    Спасибо. То, что нужно ))

  1. September 9, 2008 at 2:06 am

Leave a Reply

