Home > books > my christmas blogger secret santa

my christmas blogger secret santa

i had the best secret santa in the christmas blogger thingie. lynda at lynda’s book blog got me an amazing selection of presents!!

i was very lucky to have her as my secret santa and i just want to thank her again for her generosity.

here are some close-ups of what she got me:

i couldn’t quite zoom enough to make these clear – they are a jack skelington mobile phone charm thingie, a leather bookmark and a dragon pencil.

what really blew me away about these presents was how much thought went into them. the bookmark or the books would’ve been enough by themselves but she added little extra things. she knew i liked tim burton so she also gave me the jack skelington mobile phone charm and she gave me the dragon pencil ’cause she knew i liked fantasy.

also, i assume the dragon is a personal touch – because of the connection wales has with dragons. and lastly she also gave me a postcard with a little message in it. isn’t that just perfect? i can’t tell you how grateful i am.

i wasn’t the only one delighted with the presents. our cat, pooks, came to investigate and went crazy about them! 😀

 

lastly, a big thank you to nymeth for doing such a wonderful job organising the christmas blogger secret santa and instilling us all with the christmas spirit!

Categories: books
  1. January 8, 2009 at 5:27 pm

    I will be interested to hear your thoughts on A Wizard of Earthsea. I have read several Le Guin novels and quite enjoyed them, but the Earthsea series bores me! I have read two of them and not enjoyed either of them… Lots of people love them, though, so it is probably just me. 🙂

  2. January 8, 2009 at 6:28 pm

    wow, Lynda rocks! Such fantastic gifts! Also, I love the sequence of pictures with Pooks 😀

    I adore Earthsea, but the first book is definitely my least favourite in the series. The Left Hand of Darkness was a very difficult read, but an ultimately rewarding one. So yeah…I think you got two great books!

  3. January 8, 2009 at 7:30 pm

    Awesome gifts!! I love that Dragon pencil…it rocks! With LeGuin’s books, I either love them or hate them. She’s the only author I’ve ever experienced like that. Hope you love those! And I love the pictures of the kitty, lol.

  4. January 9, 2009 at 3:40 am

    You snagged some great stuff there JP. Your secret santa did their job well.

  5. jean pierre
    January 9, 2009 at 9:13 am

    haha! i didn’t know “wizard of earthsea” was so controversial…

    KAILANA:

    i’ll let you know what i think about it. i’ve busy reading “left hand of darkness” and so far its quite interesting, although perhaps a little dry? or something. slow?

    NYMETH:

    i know!

    i’m glad you like the pooks… 🙂 she’s such a cutie.

    its good to know the earthsea series is good as a whole. even if the first one isn’t the best, i gotta start there! 😉 plus, its really short, so it’ll be nice and breezy.

    i’m finding the same thing about left hand of darnkness. i’m finding it very cool but rather difficult. it doesn’t help that i’m really tired when i read it…

    but yeah, its really interesting. its making me sit up and think.

    CHRIST:

    they are. aren’t they?!

    yeah, i’ve noticed some ambivalence about her now… it’ll be interesting to see what i make of these two.

    glad you like the pooks! 😀

    CARL:

    yessiree! i was very lucky

  6. January 10, 2009 at 7:32 pm

    Awww…Pooks is so cute. Sorry. The books are nice too.:)

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

