Home > general > my wife baked a cake!

my wife baked a cake!

 

 

 

charlotte has often said how she used to bake a lot as a child but in the 5 years that we’ve known each other i’ve never seen any of this baking. she often said she fancied baking again but it never happened.

 

then the other day she actually started to write lists of what she’d need to get and even bought a book. she started planning what she was going to bake and on sunday we actually went and bought baking trays! the moment we got home she started fussing about the kitchen like mr. tumnus and before i knew it she was dancing about and madly babbling instructions to herself.

 

image-upload-6-772806.jpg picture by lottieloo 

 

it was very cute. even if every cake was a disaster and tasted awful it’d still be worth it to see her happiness when she makes it. she gets so excited. she becomes like a little girl again, hopping about the kitchen with this silly little smile on her face.

 

and how did it taste? it was delicious! it was some sponge thing. i loved it. i think i loved it more because she made it. theres something so caveman about eating a cake that your wife made.

 

i even took some into work for a teatime snack. every day i sat here unwrapping the foil from my cake and feeling like a king as i had it with my tea. thank you p!

 

Categories: general
  1. January 28, 2009 at 6:41 pm

    What a sweet post 😀 I think this is the first time we have the pleasure of seeing Charlotte. I love her smile! She definitely looks like she’s having fun, lol. And I totally understand, because I LOVE baking too. There’s just something so satisfying about it.

    Anyway…”something so caveman”…you crack me up 😛 The cake really does sound delicious!

  2. January 28, 2009 at 7:59 pm

    Awww….you guys are so sweet together.

  3. January 29, 2009 at 8:24 am

    Dude, I love cake! lol. It’s my biggest weakness. And that cake sounds delicious! I love the pic of the tea mug…cool mug. You and Charlotte are just perfect together!!

  4. jean pierre
    January 29, 2009 at 8:49 am

    NYMETH:

    really, have i never posted a pic of her? well i’ll be!

    hooray for bakers! 😀 and there’s something just as satisfying about eating cake!

    DARK O:

    😀

    CHRIST:

    i can see where you’re coming from – having just come off a stretch of eating cake for 4 days straight!

    haha! yeah, i love that mug too. its one mouse helping another drink a glass of wine and it says “mouse to mouse resuscitation”.

  5. January 30, 2009 at 6:55 pm

    I like to bake but I will confess I use mixes. I do add eggs and oil. I think that almost counts as homemade. I will even admit to using store bought icing. My husband gave me a lovely glass cake plate and cover for Christmas 2 years ago and I like being able to use it..

    Can we get a close up shot of that mug? Please.

  6. February 3, 2009 at 2:39 pm

    This is simply the sweetest (seriously, no pun intended!) post, and Charlotte is so utterly adorable!!! Here’s to many more cakes in your future!

  7. December 9, 2009 at 3:10 am

    Wow loved reading your article. I added your rss to my google reader!

  8. jean pierre
    December 9, 2009 at 7:47 am

    hi schnarchen! i’m very pleased you enjoyed it. although, i must be honest, i don’t post about baking and that sort of thing too often…

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

