Home > books > the count

the count

 

 

that old vampire, he’s been creeping around in my mind more and more lately. very subtly – much like he does in the book.

 

i really enjoyed it the first time i read it but it didn’t stand out as one of the best books i’d read. but its a creeper. its one of those that stays. that floats in your subconscious. that grows.

 

i find myself thinking about it more and more. not voluntary thoughts, mind, just thoughts.

 

i finally realised that i love the book when i had one particular thought – the thought that is a pure giveaway that a book has become one of my favourites. i was about to recommend it to a friend when, suddenly, i felt incredibly jealous!

 

i envied him so much for being in that position of not having read dracula. of not knowing that wonderful world he was about to enter. for that first meeting with stoker’s wonderful novel… and the count’s warm embrace.

 

Categories: books
  1. February 25, 2009 at 2:26 pm

    I know the feeling exactly. I read Dracula last year thinking that I really wouldn’t like it, but “should” read it b/c it is a classic. It grew on my bit by bit as I read and by the middle I couldn’t put it down. I STILL randomly think of that scene where the count is climbing straight down the wall of his castle … deliciously creepy!

  2. jean pierre
    February 25, 2009 at 4:02 pm

    haha! i think about the exact same scene! isn’t that funny? he describes that moment so vividly.

    i remember reading it and just seeing it. such a wonderful image!

  3. February 25, 2009 at 4:31 pm

    I can relate too. I wish there was a way to get to read our favourite books for the first time more than once!

  4. February 26, 2009 at 7:31 am

    I know exactly what you mean! I think about this book all of the time too even though it wasn’t my favorite when I read it…I liked it, it just wasn’t a fav. But it pops up all the time now…I really love it when books do that 🙂 It’s a sign that they truly are great!

  5. February 27, 2009 at 2:52 pm

    Oh yes, that is a dead giveaway of how much a book means to you, isn’t it?!! This is one of those books that I was so afraid I wasn’t going to like, and so was most incredibly happily surprised when I finally gave it a go last year.

  6. dark orpheus
    March 1, 2009 at 11:24 pm

    I love how Dracula is so atmospheric, so it works on your subconscious, and you can’t get rid of how it makes you feel. I remember even just reading the characters’ speeches, there was a “sense” of how they “should” speak. Amazing how a book written so long ago has this kind of power over the imagination, isn’t it?

  7. jean pierre
    March 3, 2009 at 9:00 am

    NYMETH:

    i totally agree. something like a positive spin on “eternal sunshine of the spotless minds”. i’d absolutely love that.

    CHRIST:

    ah – you too! and yes, its such a cool feeling!

    DEBS:

    i’m glad you liked it too!

    DARK O:

    i think you’re absolutely right – its the atmosphere of it. and you know what? i experienced the same thing about how the characters talk, and that doesn’t easily happen! you’re right, that is amazing.

  8. March 5, 2009 at 7:25 pm

    I must reread it. I read it way back in the mists of time, was still at school, so more than a decade ago (I’m so old lol). But I don’t remember that much of it, or even appreciating it all that much. Think I’d get it a lot more now. But you know, so little time, so many books 😉

  9. March 11, 2009 at 8:49 pm

    As one who has said time and again that Dracula is at the very top of his list of favorite books ever, I welcome you wholeheartedly to Dracula fandom. You are in good company!!!

  10. Jeff S.
    April 12, 2009 at 10:14 pm

    I as well have found this novel is one that returns to my thoughts every month or two. I think I realize more and more over time just how great it by how it continues to haunt me in a good way. No film ever has done this tale justice.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

