Home > cricket, general > my summer so far

my summer so far

friends, shamanism is not without its responsibilities, so i am sorry that i have been invisible for so long again. to put it simply, i have been working my arse off. and then, on top of that, we are still without the internet at home.

we have managed to arrange a new computer, though, which is currently at charlotte’s mom’s house – but its been there for over a month now and we haven’t had a chance to go and get it!

apart from working i have been having some fun too. i’ve been to the movies a few times, which is about 3 times more than I did last year! i saw watchmen, star trek and terminator salvation. i thought watchmen was okay but too much of a fanboy movie. i loved star trek and enjoyed terminator quite a lot. in terminator i particularly liked sam worthington’s performance – he was the perfect mix between vulnerable and capable. capable seems an odd word to use, but that’s the word that was going through my head the whole time. he just exuded capability – i thought to myself, “now there is a man!”

of course, i’ve been reading lots too and have read some good books and some less good books. i’m planning to blog about them very soon – come hell or high water (the latter being surprisingly likely with our english summers!). i’ve decided that i will take a gonzo approach to my book reviews as part of the reason that i post so few is that they take me so long to write. so I hope you don’t mind the change in style!

 

the village hall (and our club house)

i’ve also been playing a lot of cricket. yes, i finally got off my arse and did something. every year (for I don’t know how long) i’ve been saying two things – i’ve got to learn how to play cricket properly and i’ve got to sketch or paint more. well, there hasn’t been much art going on but i have managed to get out on the cricket field! 😀

learning to play cricket is quite a big thing for me because i love the game so much. i’d always played “backyard cricket” (as most south african and australian boys do) but only decided to try to play the game in my late teens. it wasn’t a great success as all the boys (even the worst of them) had been playing for years by then and so there was no-one on my level and i was way out of my depth.

i didn’t get very far but each year afterward i told myself that i was going to learn properly – get some coaching or join a club. but each year there wasn’t enough time or i was just too lazy. i still kept on messing around in practice nets with my friend, quintin, though, so at least i was playing a bit.

this is me wearing all the gear (i’ve since stopped wearing that thigh pad – it’s not a very good one and is more of a hinderance than a help!) btw, i played very badly on this day. 

then, when we moved to our village last year, i discovered the village cricket team and decided to join. i played three games last season and was terrible but this year things have been going much better. improved a lot and am now one of the regular members of the team.

the players in the team are all a great bunch of guys and i really enjoy playing with them, so i’ve been having a great time this summer (when the games haven’t been rained off!). going around to the villages in oxfordshire is also really cool as you get to know the county better and discover all these quaint and picturesque villages. i really must take my camera with me one day and take some proper photos!

our cricket field is particularly picturesque. it has a club house, and is bordered by a graveyard, a farm house and sheep field! it really is perfect 😀

the farm house

two batsmen completing a run (you can see the sheep field in the background there – no sheep this time, though)

Categories: cricket, general
  1. Anonymous
    August 6, 2009 at 5:11 pm

    looks like you’re having lots of fun! and I know what you mean about reviews taking forever – I’ll look forward to your shorter ones coming up. 🙂

  2. August 6, 2009 at 5:12 pm

    looks like you’re having lots of fun! and I know what you mean about reviews taking forever – I’ll look forward to your shorter ones coming up. 🙂

  3. August 6, 2009 at 5:41 pm

    Wow, that is picturesque indeed! With scenery like that even I would want to play 😛 It’s good to hear from you, JP. I don’t mind a chance in style at all – as long as you post we’ll be happy!

  4. August 7, 2009 at 4:57 am

    Hey JP! Good to hear from you man! Cool that you’ve been playing cricket lately. I’ve never played before…it’s not that big in the states, but looks fun! And I love the scenery over there. It’s gorgeous. Looks so peaceful. Hope you get the computer soon…look forward to more posts!

  5. August 8, 2009 at 3:11 am

    Do they serve cucumber sandwiches??

    One of my dreams: sitting in a shady tent on a perfect afternoon, wearing a flowing summer dress watching cricket and eating cucumber sandwiches and chatting with the vicar’s wife. 😉

  6. August 11, 2009 at 8:52 pm

    Your cricket field looks wonderful, love the farmhouse. Congrats to you for taking the initiative to go out and start to do something you’ve always wanted to do. I’m very happy for you, well done!

    Sorry about the no internet connection at home. I’ve had that happen before and it is not a pleasant thing. Hope that gets resolved soon.

    I look forward to your book reviews, regardless of the style they are presented in. It will be fun to see what you’ve read.

    I actually liked Watchmen better than Terminator Salvation. It is a fanboy movie, but pretty accurately follows the graphic novel so I don’t see any way to get around that. Salvation was okay, but something I wish I hadn’t bothered going to the theater to see. Star Trek was phenomenal, both times that I saw it.

  7. August 12, 2009 at 7:33 pm

    I really enjoyed Watchmen, loved Star Trek and thought Terminator was only okay. Although I did like yer man as well, he was the best thing in it.

    Enjoy the cricket, looks like you have a lovely spot to play it in

  8. Jeff
    August 13, 2009 at 6:54 pm

    Great hearing from you JP! Incredible scenery. I love that farm house. Cricket is a game I don’t ever seeing being played where I live but I have always thought it sounded like tremendous fun.

    I feel your pain on no internet at home. I don’t have any at home right now either. I was layed off from my job a few months ago and I lost my internet connection along with the job.

    As for movies I’ve only seen four this year so far. I loved Star Trek and the latest Harry Potter film. I enjoyed Watchmen but it’s hard to love with the story being so dark and I thought Terminator Salvaltion was hugely disappointing. I’m looking forward to District 9 next and keeping my fingers crossed.

    Take care and I look forward to those book reviews.

  9. jean pierre
    August 20, 2009 at 2:13 pm

    i’m glad you all like the scenery as much as i do! 😀

    heather:

    yes, it’s been great! only 3 more games left in the season – the summer’s almost over! 😦

    nymeth:

    you’d be most welcome as there are in fact some women who play for some villages!

    christ:

    you say cricket is not that big in the states – i didn’t even think it existed at all! except, you know, in some parts of the north-east or something…

    and, yes, i’m having loads of fun!

    elizabeth:

    haha! yes they do. tea is a big event at games and they serve all sorts of amazing things, ranging from the traditional to the more modern. cucumber sandwiches definitely feature!

    (and i’m sure i’ve seen a vicar’s wife at a game! although, to be honest, there aren’t usually too many people who come out to watch us!)

    carl:

    thanks! ah, good news is that the pc *should* arriving this weekend!

    i guess my main problem with watchmen was that it felt as if it was following the book too slavishly and yet, incongruously, missing a lot of the depth of the comics. put it this way – it looked like the comic, but it didn’t have the depth of the comic – and i felt they could’ve sacrificed a fair bit of the flashyness for some more depth.

    that said, i did like the way it looked very much! and loved loved nightowl and thought doc manhattan was very cool!

    salvation is by no means perfect, no, but i enjoyed it all the same. maybe i was just so grateful it wasn’t like no.3? i did feel they got back to the essence of the human/machine issues again, though, which is what i liked. and, as said before – i loved sam worthington!! 😀

    star trek – well, there can be no disagreements about this. it was just amazing.

    fencey:

    see my comments above re terminator and watchmen. glad you liked sammy worthington too 😀

    yup – i’m having loads of fun!

    jeff!

    hey jeff, good to see you here again!

    oh no! you’ve been laid off! that’s terrible! what are you doing now? things are quite bleak here too and a lot of people are struggling. after charlotte finished her law degree she simply couldn’t find a job – but she’s now luckily started training at a law firm, so from the end of this month we’ll be getting two pay cheques instead of one again.

    i hope you find a job soon!!

    ah – ditto what i said to fence, see my comments regarding watchmen/salvation above.

    yep, watchmen was pretty bleak. although, i liked that about it. i’m sorry you found salvation disappointing – i can understand why a lot of people didn’t like it. it’s so hard making another terminator film without the macaroon, and arnie, and after those first two amazing films!

  10. December 30, 2009 at 1:15 pm

    You guys had fun for real….good going 🙂 🙂 this made me think of my recent vacation during the Christmas….a[part from usual fun, my excitement was the book – a fantasy novel which i recently got door-delivered from a1books.co.in :):)

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

