Home > books, vlog > what i’m reading

what i’m reading

Categories: books, vlog
  1. August 29, 2011 at 4:18 pm

    This left the absolute biggest smile on my face, JP 😀 And trust me, it was very much needed today!! So many awesome books…Glad you’re reading Song of Ice and Fire!! It’s a great series. And I say that having only read the first two books :p And you have me VERY intrigued about Crooked Little Vein now…yep…putting it on the wishlist. Great to see you 🙂

    • jean pierre
      September 3, 2011 at 6:08 pm

      well, like i said, chris, i’ve been loving your vlogs. so i thought i’d reciprocate 😉

      glad it lightened up your day, and i’m sorry to hear it was so much needed 😦

      i’m with you with song of ice and fire, from my vantage point (having just read bk2) it also looks a super series! and i was thinking of you as i was reading “crooked little vein”. that’s definitely an area where our tastes are similar!

  2. August 29, 2011 at 4:57 pm

    So awesome to open my email this morning and see a post from JP! Imagine my surprise to find it is so much more than that. Very cool of you to do this and I hope you do more. As with Chris’ and everyone else’s, it is always fun to see and hear the people whose words we read so frequently.

    I haven’t read too many of Ellis’ comics, but I have been impressed with what I’ve read. I particularly liked the first two volumes of Freak Angels and need to get back to it now that (I think) it is done. I was all web based and is probably still all online for free.

    You are one ahead of me with ASOIAF. I’m only partway through Clash of Kings.

    I love the Bourne films, just watched them again the other day, and long ago went and read the Wiki summary of the books just because I was curious in how different they are. Which is very and I’d actually like to read them some day.

    I appreciate the shout out for The Name of the Wind, but will also pass the kudos on to Jeff because he was the one who talked it up so much that I knew I had to read it. I’m hoping that I’ll have the time to get to the second one this fall, maybe in November/December.

    Lovely to see and hear from you. Don’t be a stranger!

    • jean pierre
      September 3, 2011 at 6:23 pm

      haha! i’m so pleased you liked it! 😀 and i totally agree with you, i love being able to see and hear the people whose blogs i’ve been reading and whom i’ve grown close to over the years.

      “freak angels” i haven’t tried, so maybe i should! “crooked little vein” has made me consider ellis’ comics afresh, so i’m keen to check out some more of his stuff. not that “crooked little vein” was amazing, but it was pretty cool.

      i’m really looking forward to your review of “clash of kings”. i’m keen to see what you’ll have made of it!

      haha! i can see jeff recommending “the name of the wind to you”. but your post on it was really so good – it was such a good review and captured the appeal of the book very well. and more importantly, captured how the book had moved you! so i was super excited to read it!

      • September 3, 2011 at 7:04 pm

        Well I certainly look forward to your assessment of it when you get a chance to read it, and hopefully I can get to Rothfuss’ second book sometime soon.

  3. August 29, 2011 at 5:58 pm

    I love those books that you just can’t stay away from, hunting for those extra few minutes of goodness 🙂 I haven’t read any of GRR Martin, but I loved the tv show version of A Game of Thrones so I know I’ll read them at some point, but maybe not until he has finished the series.

    I loved The Name of the Wind, but again, another series that isn’t finished! Boo!

    I’ve been very bad about reading comics/graphic novels this year. Don’t think I’ve read one so far. I did get one as a present recently, Salem Brownstone so I think I’ll dive into that properly soon.

    As for what I’m reading, well, I’ve just finished The Radleys by Matt Haig which was a fun take on the teen vampire novel. I think I’m about to read a Robin McKinley next, but I haven’t totally decided. And at work I started Ship Breaker by Paolo Bacigalupi today.

    • August 29, 2011 at 6:06 pm

      Yes, but at least Rothfuss’ trilogy only has one more book to wait for!

      • August 29, 2011 at 7:10 pm

        Very true. And I shouldn’t complain too much as I got to read book 2 without any wait it took me so long to pick up book 1 in the first place.

    • jean pierre
      September 3, 2011 at 6:53 pm

      i know what you mean about these fantasy series! phew, it’s a minefield.

      it’s an interesting thing, how authors set these series up. setting up a series like a song of ice and fire, it’s quite a risk not knowing how long it’ll run for, or even working in any interim conclusions, like chopping the series up into “books”. with the name of the wind, the wait isn’t long for book 3, but with ice and fire, who knows how long we’ll wait for the last volume?

      i’m having a good time reading it at the moment, though, and don’t mind that it isn’t finished yet. it’s just good fun and i’m enjoying the ride.

      it’ll be cool to see what you make of “salem brownstone” 🙂

      haha! you have a work book and a home book too. as have. i tend to rend multiple books at once anyway, so that suits me quite well. and i’m mortally afraid of forgetting to take the book i’m reading to work, so i always just have a work book that i read there 😉

  4. August 29, 2011 at 5:59 pm

    *ignore this comment, I just forgot to tick the notify of follow up comments last time 🙂 *

  5. August 29, 2011 at 8:26 pm

    Yay! You said you were going to do a vlog back when I did, so I have been waiting for this! I probably would have pestered you if I hadn’t had so many computer problems lately distracting me and taking me away from the online world.

    I loved The Name of the Wind. I very sadly failed to review it, but I am always happy to see people reading it.

    I just recently read the first book by GRRM. One of these days I will read more. We watched the first episode of the TV show, but we haven’t had a chance to watch on in it yet. We are really bad for that…

    • jean pierre
      September 3, 2011 at 7:44 pm

      🙂

      i finished “the name of the wind” the other day (bit of a delay between recording my vlog and actually uploading it!) and i enjoyed it too.

      and, yeah, the song of ice and fire is yet anotehr series for us to read. 😉 so many out there!

      • September 4, 2011 at 2:27 am

        I am glad to hear you enjoyed The Name of the Wind. I loved it and that is why I haven’t moved on to book 2… I am worried I won’t love it quite as much.

        Hope to see you post from time to time! 🙂

  6. Jeff
    November 13, 2011 at 9:14 pm

    Hello JP!!! I loved your vlog.

    First off I’m so glad to hear you enjoyed Clash of Kings so much. I think one of the things that defines book lovers is that trait you described so well. Finding extra minutes to read. I have done that so many times myself. I love finding a book that makes me feel that. The last book I felt that way about was, A Way of Kings by Brandon Sanderson. Another note on GRRM’s series. I’m with you in the Fire and Ice sounds so much more natural than Ice and Fire.

    I have a copy of Crooked Little Vien on my bookshelf that you have made me want to move up higher on my TBR pile now. I havn’t read a lot of Ellis comics either myself but what I have read I’ve liked. I would especially recommend his Planetary series and a 5 issue mini-series he created called Ignition City.

    I hve to say I’m a big fan of Patrick Rothfuss’s novel Name of the Wind. I hope you enjoy it. Right now I’m up to almost page 600 in his second book A Wise Man’s Fear. I’m enjoying it as well. It’s not quite as good as book one yet but we shall see how it ends which might change my mind.

    Lastly, I have to say I’m guilty of never having read any Lovecraft but I have say that artwork looked quite appealing in the graphic novel you showed us on your vlog.

    Sorry it took me so long to respond to this post. I’m going to sign up for your notify me feature so I can catch future posts of yours.

    Sidenote: My soccer team Sporting KC ended up having a great season. They went from worst to first and won the MSL Eastern Conference. They ended up falling in the Easter Conference Chanmionship game so they didn’t make the MLS Cup but they had a great season and we have a cool new soccer only stadium for them to play that I did finally get to go to this year.

    Take care,
    Jeff

  7. February 16, 2013 at 11:45 am

    I’m the author of the TimeRiders series and the ELLIE QUIN series, both scifi.

    Just contacting you to see whether you’d be interested in a Q&A or a guest post from me.

    Contact me on this email address if either or both would be of interest to you.

    all the best

    Alex Scarrow

    http://www.time-riders.co.uk
    http://www.elliequin.com

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

